Jess and the Ancient Ones – “Jess and the Ancient Ones” (2012)


Label: Svart Records

Review by Luisa Mercier

Jess and The Ancient Ones has just released their self titled debut. They hail from Finland and were created by Thomas Corpse and Thomas Fiend, the two guitar players to explore the magical realms beyond the mundane. This is really apparent in the lyrics, based upon the occult experiences of the writers that combined with the music, give birth to an unforgettable experience. They draw inspiration from the heavy metal, hard rock classic such as Iron Maiden, Mercyful Fate, but also Abba. The opener “Prayer for Death and Fire” is a classic metal track with ’80s influences. The song is quite lively and Jess vocals soar over the music, dark but feminine and emotional. This is something I always feel is missing in occult rock female singers, so I was very satisfied by her performance. I would also highlight the work of Abraham on keyboards. More mid-tempo and rock is the following “Twilight Witchcraft”, I can feel some blues and doom. For sure, it is a mesmerizing track.

The beginning of “Sulfur Giants (Red King)” is very prog-oriented as well as the guitar solo at almost half of the song, while the rest of the track is strongly driven by southern rock and classic heavy metal. A strong mix that will leave you speechless. Second half is calm, whispering voices fill the air while percussions create a serene, alienating atmosphere, before another rock explosion takes place. “Ghost Riders” is another long journey into the abyss of occult rock, just lay down and listen to it without no one disturbing you. “13th Breath of The Zodiac” was already on the 7 inch released before the full-length. It has some ’70s influences, good guitar riffs and the dark atmpsphere required by this genre of music. The approach is more psychedelic than doom or metal here. “Devil (in G Minor)” is not rock, nor metal. It is more a blues, jazz song, quite different from the rest.
“Come Crimson Death” is a massive hard-rock/metal piece which contains all of the above characteristics of the band . If you love occult rock, this band is strongly recommended, solid debut.

Rating – 80/100



  1. Prayer for Death and Fire
  2. Twilight Witchcraft
  3. Sulfur Giant (Red King)
  4. Ghost Riders
  5. 13th Breath of The Zodiac
  6. Devil (in G Minor)
  7. Come Crimson Death


Line Up

  • Jess – Vocals
  • Thomas Corpse – Lead guitar
  • Thomas Fiend – Lead guitar & backing vocals
  • Von Stroh – Rhythm guitar
  • Fast Jake – Bass guitar
  • Abraham – Keyboard
  • Yussuf – Drums & percussion


MySpace * Facebook * Site

You May Also Like

Devin Townsend Project – “Z²” (2014)

Label: Century Media Records Review by Tony Cannella Devin Townsend is one talented dude. I don’t think that’s really a revolutionary statement. He’s a multi-instrumentalist, lyricist, showman, multi-tasker, all of…
View Post