Review by Anthony ‘Tony’ Cannella

From Canada, Juliet Ruin plays hard-driving aggressive metal with a healthy dose of anger thrown in for good measure.  The band has been around since 2015, released an EP in 2017 and have now issued their debut album, “Old Stardust, Love and Chaos”.

For a first offering “Old Stardust…” is one helluva statement.  The band has a ton of fire, energy and passion.  The 10-song album has plenty of ripping, aggressive metal coursing throughout yet there are still good amounts of melody – which is always a good thing, IMO.  Lead singer Jess Fleming is relentless on the opening track “Simple Wars”.  Throughout the album she alternates between a clean singing style and brutal, angry style reminiscent of Otep or Jinjer.  “Spite” is a hella ferocious number with Jess spitting out the lyrics with venomous contempt.  From there we continue with “Violent Hands”, “Details Kill” and “Fight to Win”.  Not a bad song amongst them.  “Fight to Win” in particular is freaking crushing.  Just awesome on so many levels. Musically, Juliet Ruin can get heavy whilst still maintain a cool melodic vibe.  That is pretty much what “Old Stardust, Love and Chaos” is about.  If given the opportunity, they can appeal to a wide range of metal fans.  Let the chaos begin…

Rating – 85/100


  1. Simple Wars
  2. Spite
  3. Violent Hands
  4. Details Kill
  5. Fight To Win
  6. Seasons
  7. With Only Rage
  8. Charlatan
  9. Stay Gold
  10. Old Stardust, Love and Chaos

Line Up:

  • Jess Fleming – Lead Vocals
  • Kent Geislinger – Guitar and Vocals
  • Dayn Armsworthy – Guitar and Backing Vocals
  • Cody Reid – Bass and Backing Vocals
  • Jesse Bauman – Drums


Juliet Ruin official website