Independent Release

Review by Tony Cannella

From Italy, the power metal band Kalidia formed in 2010. They have just released their debut EP “Dance of the Four Winds”. It seems redundant to say ‘here is another quality metal band from Italy’, but Kalidia are in fact another excellent band to emerge from Italy.

The gothic-like intro leads us into the great opening song “The Lost Mariner”. This song comes soaring through on the wings of a powerful melody and great chorus. Musically, Kalidia recalls classic metal of the 70s and 80s such as Rainbow and MSG and they certainly have the musical chops to match. A sharp guitar riffs begins the next track, “Winged Lords” which is slower in tempo than the previous song, yet is even more melodic and passionate – this is my favorite song. The classic metal sounding “Reign of Kalidia” is up next and buoyed by a galloping pace. The mid to slower tempo track “Shadow Will Be Gone” brings the EP to a satisfying conclusion, this is a bit on the power ballad side of things and is another strong example of what Kalidia has to offer – which is quite substantial. At only 19-minutes “Dance of the Four Winds” is a short but sweet debut. Kalidia is a band worth watching in the future.

Rating – 75/100



  1. The Lost Mariner
  2. Winged Lords
  3. Reign of Kalidia
  4. Shadow Will Be Gone


Line Up

  • Nicoletta Rosellini – Vocals
  • Federico Paolini – Guitars
  • Nicola Azzola – Keyboards
  • Roberto Donati – Bass
  • Alessandro Cecchini – Drums





Latest posts by Miriam Cadoni (see all)