Label: Titan

Review by Tony Cannella

Canada’s Kobra and the Lotus have been making a huge noise in the metal world – both figuratively and literally – these past few years, but it was their self-titled 2nd album that made people sit up and take notice. Well, with their 3rd album “High Priestess”, the band have not only equaled their previous album, but in many ways bettered it. Make no mistake about it, I was a huge fan of their self-titled album, but “High Priestess” takes things to the next level and beyond.

Kobra and the Lotus can hold their own with anybody. They’ve toured and played shows with a diverse array of metal and hard rock bands and musically they have that ability to fit in with anybody – they just happen to do so with a massive amount of force. “High Priestess” is one of those albums – much like its predecessors – that is forceful and unapologetically metal. Lead vocalist Kobra Paige puts her classical training to good use and within the context of metal her style fits like a glove. She’s got a huge, leather lunged voice and the band sounds massive as well. From the heavy opener “Warhorse” and into “I Am, I Am”, “High Priestess” is as unrelenting as it gets. The songs manage to maintain a strong melodic focus and songs like “Heartbeat”, “Hold On”, “High Priestess”, “Soldier” (check out the cool video) and the closing number “Lost in the Shadows” should please the die-hards as well bring new fans to the party.

As Kobra and the Lotus takes their music to the masses across North America as the opening act for KISS and Def Leppard, the band has put together a solid 3rd record. “High Priestess” is an album that should come as a blessing to fans of traditional, classic metal with a modern twist. What’s not to love?

Rating – 94/100



  1. Warhorse
  2. I Am, I Am
  3. Heartbeat
  4. Hold On
  5. High Priestess
  6. Soldier
  7. Battle of Wrath
  8. Visionary
  9. Willow
  10. Lost in the Shadows


Line Up

  • Kobra Paige – Vocals
  • Jasio Kulakowski – Guitars,
  • Jake Dreyer – Guitars (Guest)
  • Brad Kennedy – Bass
  • Bones Elias – Drummer (Guest)



Facebook * Twitter * Site


Latest posts by Miriam Cadoni (see all)