La Ventura – “White Crow” (2013)


Label: Ravenheart Records/Valkyrie Rising

Review by Tony Cannella

La-Ventura is a melodic hard rock/metal band from The Netherlands. They formed in 2007 and released their debut album, “A New Beginning”. Now the band returns with their sophomore effort “White Crow”.

“White Crow” features 40-minutes of infectiously melodic, guitar driven, hard rock and metal. La-Ventura has no delusions about what they do and their songs draw you in instantly. Right from the start, the opening track “Falling Down” is an excellent way to open things and the band proves they have a great ear for melody – which their songs have an abundance of. Song like “Human Vanity”, “Song for an Idiot” (great title), and the track “White Crow” are all solid and showcases what La-Ventura are capable of.

“White Crow” is one of those albums that I found immediately likeable. For La-Ventura the future looks good and if “White Crow” is any indication, this band has a great opportunity to branch off into the mainstream.

Rating – 85/100



  1. Falling Down
  2. Human Vanity
  3. Close to You
  4. Song For An Idiot
  5. White Crow
  6. Drowning
  7. Time and Time Again
  8. Neverending Story
  9. The Only One
  10. Watch Me Go


Line Up

  • Carla van Huizen – Vocals
  • Sasha Kondic – Guitars
  • Mike Saffrie – Bass
  • Renzo van Poecke – Drums


Facebook * Twitter * Site

You May Also Like

Devin Townsend Project – “Z²” (2014)

Label: Century Media Records Review by Tony Cannella Devin Townsend is one talented dude. I don’t think that’s really a revolutionary statement. He’s a multi-instrumentalist, lyricist, showman, multi-tasker, all of…
View Post