Leaves’ Eyes – “Fires in the North” EP (2016)


Label: AFM Records

Review by Tony Cannella

When it was announced that Liv Kristine had left Leaves’ Eyes, the band that she co-founded it came as a huge shock to yours truly and many within the metal community. Leaves’ Eyes quickly picked themselves up however by enlisting Elina Siirala (from EnkeliNation) and continues to march forward. Leaves’ Eyes has released their first efforts with Elina, an EP called “Fires in the North”. From the opening track,“Fires in the North”, my doubts were quickly cast aside as It became obvious that Elina is the right person for the job. Elina has a slightly more operatic style than her predecessor and it shows on the title song. Next we have an acoustic version of the song “Fires in the North”. The EP is concluded with new versions (with Elina on vox, naturally) of “Edge of Steel”, “Sacred Vow” and “Swords in Rock”, all songs that were originally recorded with Liv Kristine on the last album to feature her, “King of Kings”. Liv Kristine has always been the easily identifiable voice of Leaves’ Eyes and a lot of fans are disappointed to see her go. Elina Siirala is not a clone, she brings her own style to the table. As a longtime fan of Leaves’ Eyes, I really loved “Fires in the North” and I look forward to seeing what the future holds.

Rating – 90/100



  1. Fires in the North
  2. Fires in the North (Acoustic Version)
  3. Edge of Steel (2016 Version)
  4. Sacred Vow (2016 Version)
  5. Swords in Rock (2016 Version)


Line Up

  • Elina Siirala – Vocals
  • Alexander Krull – Vocals, Keyboards, Samples
  • Pete Streit – Guitars
  • Thorsten Bauer – Guitars, Bass
  • Joris Nijenhuis – Drums







You May Also Like

Devin Townsend Project – “Z²” (2014)

Label: Century Media Records Review by Tony Cannella Devin Townsend is one talented dude. I don’t think that’s really a revolutionary statement. He’s a multi-instrumentalist, lyricist, showman, multi-tasker, all of…
View Post