Leaves Eyes’ – “Symphonies of the Night” (2013)


Label: Napalm Records

Review by Tony Cannella

“Symphonies of the Night” is the title of the 4th full-length album from the German/Norwegian metal band Leaves’ Eyes. The band – which is led by the duel vocals of Liv Kristine and her husband, Atrocity main man Alex Krull – has forged a pretty consistent and solid career for themselves based on an excellent body of work and “Symphonies of the Night” certainly rates right up there with their previous efforts.

The opening number “Hell to the Heavens” is simply awesome and my favorite track. What a great way to start things. Liv Kristine and Alexander Krull continue to be one of the most unique vocal tandems who use the “beauty and the beast” technique. “Fading Earth” begins with a cool piano intro before the bombastic guitar riff and guitar harmonies enter into the song. This is a beautifully melodic and memorable song. There is no shortage of classic Leaves’ Eyes moments on tracks like: “Maid of Lorraine”, “Symphony of the Night” and “Eleonore de Provence”. The band is on quite a roll these days. With “Symphonies of the Night”, Leaves’ Eyes continues to ascend to the top-rung of the symphonic metal genre. This is another solid edition to the Leaves’ Eyes repertoire.

Rating – 85/100



  1. Hell to the Heavens
  2. Fading Earth
  3. Maid of Lorraine
  4. Galswintha
  5. Symphony of the Night
  6. Saint Cecelia
  7. Hymn to the Lone Sands
  8. Angel and the Ghost
  9. Eleonore de Provence
  10. Nightshade
  11. Ophelia


Line Up

  • Liv Kristine – Vocals
  • Alexander Krull – Vocals
  • Thorsten Bauer – Guitars
  • Sander van der Meer – Guitars
  • Felix Born – Drums


Facebook * Twitter* Site

You May Also Like

Devin Townsend Project – “Z²” (2014)

Label: Century Media Records Review by Tony Cannella Devin Townsend is one talented dude. I don’t think that’s really a revolutionary statement. He’s a multi-instrumentalist, lyricist, showman, multi-tasker, all of…
View Post