Leaves – “This is the Time” EP (2013)


Label: WormHoleDeath

Review by Tony Cannella

LeavesThisIsTheTimeEPCOverWhen last we heard from the Spanish band Leaves they were issuing their debut full length back in 2010. Now, after a few years of silence, the band returns with a 6-song EP entitled, “This is the Time”.

The opening track “Insane Heart” begins with a powerful groove-laden riff as the song transforms into a dreamy sort of vibe. This is my favorite track. Musically, the band is still influenced by Anneke era The Gathering – not that it’s a bad thing. Vocalist Rachel has a solid voice that is sure to remind people of Anneke van Giersbergen. Continuing on, we have the second track, “Now Is The Time”. This song starts with a slower tempo, before quickly speeding up and becoming heavier. Other highlights include: “Salvation” and “The End”So, is this the time for Leaves? That remains to be seen, but “This is the Time” does an excellent job in building of off their debut. Fans of Anneke era The Gathering should love this.

Rating – 73/100



  1. Insane Heart
  2. Now is the Time
  3. Salvation
  4. Instante Infinito
  5. Ahora Yo
  6. The End


Line Up

  • Rachel – Vocals
  • Manjón – Guitars
  • Franck – Guitars
  • Francis – Bass
  • Jordy – Drums


Facebook * Twitter

You May Also Like

Devin Townsend Project – “Z²” (2014)

Label: Century Media Records Review by Tony Cannella Devin Townsend is one talented dude. I don’t think that’s really a revolutionary statement. He’s a multi-instrumentalist, lyricist, showman, multi-tasker, all of…
View Post