Lightless Moor – “The Poem – Crying My Grief to A Feeble Dawn” (2013)


Label: Dreamcell 11/Wormholedeath/Aural Music

Review by Tony Cannella

From Italy, the Gothic Doom Metal band Lightless Moor formed in 2001. After their initial EP “Renewal” was released in 2006, they recently signed to the up-and-coming label WormHoleDeath and it is through that label that they have released their long awaited epic debut, “The Poem – Crying My Grief to a Feeble Dawn”. With a name like Lightless Moor and judging by some of the song titles, it is easy to see that lyrically they explore the darker side of life and the music provides the perfect soundtrack.

The ominously eerie intro segues into the heavy doom-laden opening track “The Lyrics of the Journey”. Lightless Moor utilizes two lead vocalists. The female voice belongs to Ilaria Falchi – she has an angelic semi-operatic style whilst guitarist Federico Mura contributes extreme male vocals. The two have great chemistry, particularly when they are each singing simultaneously. “The Lyrics of the Journey” is a pretty cool opener with various tempo changes. The next track “Chained to a Dismal Chant” starts off with kind of a thrash metal vibe before veering off into a more dramatic and symphonic territory and then returning to the heavier side of the spectrum. “Arabian Nights” and “Cento Respiri (Slave)” make up a powerful duo and then lead into the monumental 12 ½ minute epic “Overwhelming Darkness” which is – in my opinion – the most powerful moment on “The Poem”. With their full-length debut “The Poem…” Lightless Moor is a powerful new voice in the Gothic Doom genre.

Rating – 85/100



  1. The Lyrics of the Journey
  2. Chained to a Dismal Chant
  3. Arabian Nights
  4. Cento Respiri (Slave)
  5. Overwhelming Darkness
  6. Sacrifice
  7. The Lovers and the Forest
  8. Dark Side of Our Souls


Line Up

  • Ilaria Falchi – Vocals
  • Federico Mura – Vocals, Guitar
  • Alberto Mannucci Pacini – Guitar
  • Edoardo Fanni – Keyboards
  • Michele Mura – Bass
  • Stefano Spano – Drums


Facebook * Twitter * Site

You May Also Like

Devin Townsend Project – “Z²” (2014)

Label: Century Media Records Review by Tony Cannella Devin Townsend is one talented dude. I don’t think that’s really a revolutionary statement. He’s a multi-instrumentalist, lyricist, showman, multi-tasker, all of…
View Post