Lucifer – “Lucifer I” (2015)


Label: Rise Above Records

Review by Warren Mayocchi

Big riff laden heavy seventies sound. This album is awesome. I love listening to bands that I have not heard from before, will it be a sonic surprise? At best the discovery of new artists is an experience of absolute joy. Lucifer have pleased me greatly with what they have done on their debut album. They have called their first album, in what may be a small tribute to Led Zeppelin, “Lucifer I”. On their Facebook page the band give themselves a genre of “Heavy Magic Rock”, in other places they are labeled as heavy/doom rock. I think the former is more appropriate, though there is a sense of doom in the band’s name and some of their lyrical imagery. There is also a haunting element to the vocal style of their lead singer Johanna Sadonis, but together the band are simply playing up a musical masterpiece. However you classify them, this is a band that plays heavy rock extremely well. So compliments to Dino Gollnick on bass and Andrew Prestidge on drums with Garry Jennings co-songwriter/studio guitarist.

It is almost as though I am listening to a lost or undiscovered rock album from the seventies. “Abracadabra” leads the album and the band bring out their magic for this song, it is an stunning rocker with big drums, guitars, riffs – Lucifer just announced their arrival. It is followed up with “Purple Pyramid” which has a great crunchy riff throughout. The quality continues throughout the album, when “Sabbath” comes up I wonder if the band are paying tribute to Black Sabbath with the song title and then the song plays and I am sure that they are.

I expect that, similar to the great albums from the seventies, this is an album that must translate to fantastic live performances. So if you have a chance I would go and see Lucifer on stage. As for the rest of us, we can enjoy what the band have given us on their debut album and hope for more.

Rating – 92/100



  1. Abracadbra
  2. Purple Pyramid
  3. Izrael
  4. Sabbath
  5. White Mountain
  6. Morning Star
  7. Total Eclipse
  8. A Grave For Each One of Us


Line Up

  • Johanna Sadonis – Vocals
  • Gaz Jennings – Guitars
  • Dino Gollnick – Bass
  • Andrew Prestidge – Drums

You May Also Like

Devin Townsend Project – “Z²” (2014)

Label: Century Media Records Review by Tony Cannella Devin Townsend is one talented dude. I don’t think that’s really a revolutionary statement. He’s a multi-instrumentalist, lyricist, showman, multi-tasker, all of…
View Post