Madness of the Night – “The Asgarda” (2013)


Label: Massacre Records

Review by Tony Cannella

Madness of the Night is a Gothic metal duo from Sweden. They’ve just issued their debut album via massacre which is titled “The Asgarda” – and it is a trippy 48-minute excursion into the dark side of rock music.

Madness of the Night draws influences from a diverse range of bands such as Sisters of Mercy, Dead Can Dance and The Cult. Their music has a foreboding, dark and ominous vibe to it and singer Abir Blackshadow offers a unique vocal style to the songs. She’s got the type of voice that fans will either love or hate, but once you hear it you can’t ignore it. Now, on to the songs; in all there are 11-tracks including two remixes. The songs maintain a Gothic style with hints of electronic and alternative metal. Highlights include: The opening track “Oppression”, “We Are Gothrockers and We Don’t Care”, “She is the Demon” and the inspiring “Stand Up” which for me, was hands down the best song.

I will admit that Madness of the Night is a bit different to what I am used to reviewing, but in a way it is a refreshing change of pace. The conviction behind the songs on “The Asgarda” cannot be denied and as a band, Madness of the Night cannot be contained.

Rating – 72/100



  1. Oppression (remix)
  2. The State of Madness
  3. Theatre of Life
  4. We Are Gothrockers and We Don’t Care
  5. She is the Demon
  6. Terrorroom
  7. Voices of the People
  8. Javla Zigenare
  9. Stand Up
  10. Jephania
  11. We Are Gothrockers And We Don’t Care (chamber mix)


Line Up

  • Abir Blackshadow – Vocals
  • Daniel Dante – Music


Facebook * Site

You May Also Like

Devin Townsend Project – “Z²” (2014)

Label: Century Media Records Review by Tony Cannella Devin Townsend is one talented dude. I don’t think that’s really a revolutionary statement. He’s a multi-instrumentalist, lyricist, showman, multi-tasker, all of…
View Post