MALEVOLENT – Delving into a startling world

Composed of only 4 tracks, the self-titled and self-release debut of the Belgian/Spanish duo Malevolent is a “pure symphonic metal nirvana”.

Malevolent is a symphonic/Gothic Metal band conceived by Belgian/French vocalist Nikolaas Van Riet, formerly of the band Keltgar. He is joined by an amazing array of musicians, including Spanish vocalist Celica Soldream. The self-released band’s self-titled EP brings it all together. The lyrics tie together to tell a story of a “post-apocalyptic malevolent world.” It’s all pretty deep stuff with the musicianship to match.

Malevolent S/T Cover artwork

The opening intro to “Gaze” sets the atmosphere as the band comes crashing in. This song has an Epica vibe and paints a beautiful musical soundscape. It’s a great opener that sets the tone straight away. Some nice mid-range and operatic vocals from Celica Soldream show off her talents. 

“Ways” is next and is pure symphonic metal nirvana. This is another one that is sort of mid-tempo but speeds up as the song progresses. “Light” keeps things moving along nicely, which leads into “Creations” which is another highlight and features guest vocals by none other than Mark Jansen from Epica.

Malevolent‘s debut is an inspired work and a worthy addition to the Symphonic and Gothic metal genres.


  1. Gaze
  2. Ways
  3. Light
  4. Creations

Line Up

  • Nikolaas Van Riet – Vocals
  • Celica Soldream – Vocals
  • Jan Verschueren – Lead Guitar
  • Koen Herfst – Drums
You May Also Like

Devin Townsend Project – “Z²” (2014)

Label: Century Media Records Review by Tony Cannella Devin Townsend is one talented dude. I don’t think that’s really a revolutionary statement. He’s a multi-instrumentalist, lyricist, showman, multi-tasker, all of…
View Post