Merkabah – “Ubiquity” (2014)


Label: Metal Maple Records

Review by Tony Cannella

Hailing from Quebec, Canada, the melodic metal band Merkabah was formed in 2002. The band released their debut EP “Elliptic Thoughts” that same year and followed that up with their debut full-length “Shadows Never Forget” in 2005. In 2007 they released their sophomore effort “The Realm of All Secrets” before going silent for a number of years. Finally the band returns with their 3rd full-length album entitled “Ubiquity”.

The power house opener “Mythomania” gets us off to a fantastically dramatic start. The usage of keyboards gives the song a progressive metal vibe. From there comes the galloping Maiden-esq “Divine Sparks”. “Red Letter Days” is a great mid-tempo number. Lead vocalist Jacinthe Poulin certain has a powerful voice which fits in nicely with the music. Other highlights include: “Circles of Despair”, “Brothers From the Seed of Cain” and the monumental 12-minute epic instrumental “Ubiquity” which closes the CD.

With “Ubiquity”, Merkabah just may have, quite possibly released a contender for the top melodic metal album of 2014. On their web site, Merkabah promises “an epic journey”. Mission accomplished.

Rating – 95/100



  1. Mythomania
  2. Divine Sparks
  3. Red Letter Days
  4. Circles of Despair
  5. Brothers From The Seed of Cain
  6. Deadly Prophets of the Printed Page
  7. Agartha
  8. Ubiquity


Line Up

  • Jacinthe Poulin – Vocals
  • François Vachon  – Guitar
  • Raynald Brochu – Guitar
  • Louis Doyon – Bass
  • Nicolas Bilodeau – Drums



You May Also Like

Devin Townsend Project – “Z²” (2014)

Label: Century Media Records Review by Tony Cannella Devin Townsend is one talented dude. I don’t think that’s really a revolutionary statement. He’s a multi-instrumentalist, lyricist, showman, multi-tasker, all of…
View Post