Metal Allegiance – “Fallen Heroes” EP (2016)


Label: Nuclear Blast

Review by Tony Cannella

Metal Allegiance is a project featuring a revolving line-up of some great talent in the metal genre. Last year saw the release of their debut album and the band returns with a fantastic new 3-song EP. “Fallen Heroes” sees Metal Allegiance paying homage to three rock legends who have left us in the past year: Lemmy from Motorhead, David Bowie and Glenn Frey from Eagles. The familiar riff of the Motorhead classic “Iron Fist” gets us going. This is a heavy, high adrenalin song and the version featured here doesn’t lose any of that. The lead vocals provided by Troy Sanders are quite intense and really hit the mark. Next we have a cover of the David Bowie song “Suffragette City”. Mark Osegueda from Death Angel handles the lead vocals on this one and definitely sounds great. This version is obviously heavier than the original but nonetheless still faithful to the original. The final song was the one that I most curious about. It is a cover of the Eagles song “Life in the Fast Lane” with Alissa White-Gluz from Arch Enemy on vocals. Alissa does such a great job on this song and this is probably my favorite track on whole EP. Again, while this version is heavier than the original it still stays true to the Eagles version. That is something you can say about each and every track on “Fallen Heroes”, Metal Allegiance play these songs with the reverence and respect they deserve. Metal Allegiance not only do these songs justice, they also do them proud. “Fallen Heroes” is a fitting tribute to some of the all-time greats who have left us too soon.

Rating – 95/100



  1. Iron Fist
  2. Suffragette City
  3. Life in the Fast Lane


Line Up

  • Troy Sanders  – Vocals on “Iron Fist”
  • Mark Osegueda – Vocals on “Suffragette City”
  • Alissa White-Gluz – Vocals on “Life in the Fast Lane”
  • Alex Skolnick – Guitar
  • David Ellefson – Bass
  • Mike Portnoy – Drums






You May Also Like

Devin Townsend Project – “Z²” (2014)

Label: Century Media Records Review by Tony Cannella Devin Townsend is one talented dude. I don’t think that’s really a revolutionary statement. He’s a multi-instrumentalist, lyricist, showman, multi-tasker, all of…
View Post