MindMaze – “Mask of Lies” (2013)


Independent Release

Review by Tony Cannella

From Allentown, Pennsylvania MindMaze play power metal and have just released their stunning, mesmerizing (insert adjective here) debut album “Mask of Lies”. There are a lot of great metal bands out there, but sometimes along comes a band that brings things to a new level. For me, MindMaze is one such band.

Straight away from the pounding and soaring opening track “Never Look Back”, “Mask of Lies” is as consistent and powerful a debut as I’ve heard in quite some time. “Breaking the Chains” keeps the momentum going full throttle. Lead vocalist Sarah Teets is simply awesome and her vocals are the perfect mix of fire and passion to go along with riffs that keep coming fast and furious. The ominous acoustic intro kicks off “This Holy War” before the song evolves into a pounding mid-tempo track. Songs like “Fading Skies”, the awesome epic-ness of the 11-minute “Dark City (Dreaming This Life)” and the almost 9-minute closing tune “Destiny Calls” are all huge highlights and songs that exemplify the bands melodic power metal style.

What can I say? “Mask of Lies” is classic power metal from the very beginning. MindMaze just totally took me by surprise and should impress even the most jaded of metal fans. Don’t believe me? Give this band a listen. I’m hooked.

Rating – 95/100



  1. Never Look Back
  2. Breaking the Chains
  3. This Holy War
  4. Cosmic Overture
  5. Fading Skies
  6. Mask of Lies
  7. Dark City (Dreaming This Life)
  8. Remember
  9. Destiny Calls


Line Up

  • Sarah Teets – Vocals, Flute
  • Jeff Teets – Guitars, Keyboards, Backing Vocals
  • Rich Pasqualone – Bass
  • Kalin Schweizerhof – Drums


Facebook * Twitter * Site

You May Also Like

Devin Townsend Project – “Z²” (2014)

Label: Century Media Records Review by Tony Cannella Devin Townsend is one talented dude. I don’t think that’s really a revolutionary statement. He’s a multi-instrumentalist, lyricist, showman, multi-tasker, all of…
View Post