Label: Frontiers Records

Review by Tony Cannella

Sadly, it gets harder and harder to find good melodic AOR music these days. Songs with catchy hooks and punchy choruses are scarce these days, but thankfully the fine folks over at Frontiers records have that covered and they’ve brought us a good one with Moon Land featuring Lenna Kuurmaa. Lenna Kuurmaa is an Estonian singer who some fans might know from the all female band Vanilla Ninja. With her new project, Moon Land she has joined forces with some talented Italian musicians to produce a 12-song, 52-minute slice of AOR heaven.

Lenna Kuurmaa has a soaring vocal style which fits like a glove with the music that is being played. The songs range from up-tempo rockers to ballads to mid-tempo numbers with the common denominator being great melodies and infectious choruses throughout. “Heaven is To Be Close To You” opens with a brief piano intro before launching into uplifting riff before settling neatly into a mid-tempo groove. “Open Your Heart” features another piano intro before the song takes a radio friendly turn. “Crime Of Love” turns up the tempo and has a killer melody. “Over Me” has a Saraya vibe to it and has a high like-ability factor. Lenna’s got a tremendous voice and that shines on some of the other stand out tracks like: “Poison Angel”, “When Love is Gone” and “Cold As Ice”.

Fans who are longing for quality AOR music (like me), may have that void filled with Moon Land featuring Lenna Kuurmaa. This is an album with no pretentions and they are not latching on to the latest trend. The songs are expertly crafted and Lenna’s vocals provide the icing on the cake.

Rating – 88/100



  1. Heaven Is To Be Close To You
  2. Open Your Heart
  3. Crime of Love
  4. Poison Angel
  5. When Love Is Gone
  6. Out of Reach
  7. Live and Let Go
  8. Cold As Ice
  9. Over Me
  10. Heart Made of Steel
  11. Look At Us Now
  12. Another Day in Paradise


Line Up

  • Lenna Kuurmaa – Lead vocals
  • Alessandro Del Vecchio – Keyboards, percussion & backing vocals
  • Francesco Marras – Guitars
  • Bruce Gaitsch – Nylon guitar
  • Anna Portalupi – Bass
  • Alessandro Polifrone – Drums