Mother Harlot – “Mother Harlot” EP (2016)


Independent Release

Review by Tony Cannella

From Brooklyn, New York, Mother Harlot plays high energy melodic power metal. They have just released their self-titled debut EP. Mother Harlot is a relatively new band but that hasn’t stopped them from releasing a fantastic debut in a short amount of time. Lyrically as well as musically Mother Harlot has a lot to offer. Their songs are about different female deities and the music absolutely compliments this. It is the perfect storm so to speak. Musically, Mother Harlot goes for the jugular on each and every song; complete with galloping rhythms and soaring melodies. Lead vocalist Sonia Goldberg (who also supplies the lyrics) brings a lot to the table. Her vocals soar along with the music but she also adds sort of a pop delivery to her vocals. Lest this turns people off, I would definitely recommend that you give them a listen. It all works quite well and is impressively done. Highlights include: “Lilith’s Scorn”, “Paradise Found” and “They (In the Field of Punishment)”, but it’s all pretty solid and worthwhile. Mother Harlot‘s self-titled EP is a power metal juggernaut. Now with their first EP under their belts, hopefully we will see a full-length from Mother Harlot in the very near future.

Rating – 93/100



  1. Lilith’s Scorn
  2. Blood of Saints
  3. Mother Kali
  4. Flight of the Harbinger
  5. Paradise Found
  6. They (In the Field of Punishment)


Line Up

  • Sonia Goldberg – Vocals
  • Anthony Sallustio – Guitar
  • Nick Curcio – Guitar
  • Tom Mis – Bass
  • John Carlson – Drums


You May Also Like

Devin Townsend Project – “Z²” (2014)

Label: Century Media Records Review by Tony Cannella Devin Townsend is one talented dude. I don’t think that’s really a revolutionary statement. He’s a multi-instrumentalist, lyricist, showman, multi-tasker, all of…
View Post