Motogruv – “Nowhere & Here” (2011)


Independent Release

Review by Tony Cannella

The four-piece band Motogruv formed in 2006 in Petaluma, California. They released their debut album in 2009 and now have released this 7-song, 30-minute EP independently. Some bands are hard to describe, others are not. Motogruv are not a very hard band to describe musically. For the most part they are a hard rock band with a definite 70s influence. In addition to their classic rock influences the band includes Jazz and Blues influences, to produce one of the more surprising albums of the year.

The raspy acapella style vocals of talented front-woman Corinne Reif kick starts “Nowhere & Here” – actually at the start her vocals have sort of a country twang to them, but that is not her usual style, still it shows the diversity of this band as the heavy, Black Sabbath (Ozzy-era) riffs come in. The next song “Four Leaf” has a trippy, Led Zeppelin-ish vibe to it. “No Respect” is just a fast paced song that has just a big, memorable, chorus to it with gang background vocals. This song has a bit of a Guns N’ Roses feel to it. The title song is next and is just a flat-out, brilliantly haunting track and this one really stands out. “Soldier Boy” is next and this easily became my favorite song. This song is buoyed by one of the most infectious guitar riffs that I’ve heard all year. The duo of “Walk With Me” and “White Line” winds things up nicely. Corinne’s vocals are simply huge and powerful, just like the music on “Nowhere & Here”.

I am done predicting big things for any bands. Usually bands that I think should be huge are not and bands that I don’t think should be huge go on to superstardom. Got that? I think I just confused myself. Anyway, I sincerely hope that someone will take a chance on Motogruv. I think they potentially can go a long way, at least I hope so anyway.

Rating – 85/100



  1. Down By the River
  2. Four Leaf
  3. No Respect
  4. Nowhere and Here
  5. Soldier Boy
  6. Walk With Me
  7. White Line


Line Up

  • Corinne Reif – Vocals
  • Dustin Smart – Guitar
  • Matt O’Shea – Bass
  • Nick Wester – Drums


Facebook * Twitter * Site

You May Also Like

Devin Townsend Project – “Z²” (2014)

Label: Century Media Records Review by Tony Cannella Devin Townsend is one talented dude. I don’t think that’s really a revolutionary statement. He’s a multi-instrumentalist, lyricist, showman, multi-tasker, all of…
View Post