Motor Sister – “Ride” (2015)


Label: Metal Blade

Review by Tony Cannella

Motor Sister is an all-star musical project that pays homage to Mother Superior a Los Angeles based hard rock band that existed from 1993 to 2011. The band formed when Anthrax rhythm guitarist Scott Ian invited some of his friends over to his house to play a bunch of Mother Superior songs for his 50th birthday. Among the musicians who joined him was Mother Superior vocalist and guitarist Jim Wilson, bassist Joey Vera (Armored Saint, Fates Warning), drummer John Tempesta (The Cult) and Ian’s wife (and Meat Loaf’s daughter) Pearl Aday on backing vocals. From there the band decided that these songs were too good to be kept under wraps and went about recording an album of some of their favorite Mother Superior songs. The result of which is “Ride”.

Throughout the 12-songs and 45-minutes that make up “Ride”, Motor Sister delivers an impactful record that definitely brings to mind classic rock of the 70’s. There simply is not too many bands playing this kind of music these days. It certainly has a classic rock feel to it and believe me, that’s a good thing. “A-Hole” kicks things off in a raw, energetic fashion. The album is not over-produced. It’s got an infectious pounding feel to it. Lead vocals are handled by Jim Wilson who is a former member of Mother Superior with background and harmony vocals supplied by Pearl Aday. The heavy blues of “This Song Reminds Me of You” is the second track and is just huge. With all of the talent on board from bands like Anthrax and Armored Saint, this album is so far removed from everything they’ve musically done in the past. Other highlights include: “Beg Borrow Steal”, “Head Hanging Low”, “Pretty in the Morning” and “Devil Wind”.

The term “supergroup” gets bandied about at the drop of a hat, but Motor Sister doesn’t have that vibe. With “Ride” it feels more like a bunch of friends getting together and jamming on some songs they love and in the process exposing Mother Superior to a new audience.

Rating – 83/100



  1. A-Hole
  2. This Song Reminds Me of You
  3. Beg Borrow Steal
  4. Fool Around
  5. Get That Girl
  6. Head Hanging Low
  7. Fork in the Road
  8. Little Motor Sister
  9. Pretty in the Morning
  10. Whore
  11. Doghouse
  12. Devil Wind


Line Up

  • Jim Wilson – Vocals, Guitar
  • Pearl Aday – Vocals
  • Scott Ian – Guitar
  • Joey Vera – Bass
  • John Tempesta – Drums


Facebook * Twitter

You May Also Like

Devin Townsend Project – “Z²” (2014)

Label: Century Media Records Review by Tony Cannella Devin Townsend is one talented dude. I don’t think that’s really a revolutionary statement. He’s a multi-instrumentalist, lyricist, showman, multi-tasker, all of…
View Post