My Black Light – “Are You a Liar?” EP (2014)


Independent Release

Review by Tony Cannella

Formed in Italy in 2008, the metal band My Black Light first came on the metal scene with their 2010 debut “Human Maze”. Now the band returns with a brand new 4-song, 20-minute EP “Are You a Liar?”

“Are You a Liar?” begins with electro-intro of “The Executioner” before the song develops into an up-tempo instantly catchy tune. Next is the title song which marries brutality and melody very well. Lead vocalist Monica Primo’s smooth, clear vocals are joined by the harsh male vocals of keyboardist Rudy Bertetto. “The Joke” is another heavy one which slows the tempo down quite a bit before gradually regaining its heavy groove. The album is completed with the wistful ballad “The Cure” as Monica delivers such a powerful vocal performance. Musically, My Black Light combines the best elements of symphonic metal with thrash, melodic death and power metal.

For those who are familiar with “Human Maze”, then “Are You a Liar?” should come as a welcomed addition to the collection. For those who have not previously heard My Black Light, than “Are You a Liar?” will serve as a nice introduction.

Rating – 86/100



  1. The Executioner
  2. Are You a Liar?
  3. The Joke
  4. The Cure


Line Up

  • Monica Primo – Vocals
  • Emanuele Rossi – Guitars
  • Rudy Coda Bertetto – Keyboards, Vocals
  • Fabrizio Forti – Bass
  • Loris Poletti  – Drums


Facebook * Twitter * Site

You May Also Like

Devin Townsend Project – “Z²” (2014)

Label: Century Media Records Review by Tony Cannella Devin Townsend is one talented dude. I don’t think that’s really a revolutionary statement. He’s a multi-instrumentalist, lyricist, showman, multi-tasker, all of…
View Post