myGrain – “Planetary Breathing” (2013)


Label: Spinefarm Records

Review by Cristina Gregori

Still unknown to some in the metal panorama, myGRAIN is a melodic death metal band from Finland, already musically active on the scene since 2004. After the release of three albums, these guys are back with a brand new full length record, “Planetary Breathing”. If with the previous and the self-title album “MyGrain” we felt in love with this band, this new work can only confirm our thoughts: these guys are excellent musicians and they’re able to bring the name of the melodic death genre up.

The intro “Incantation” introduces the album, immediately some of you will recognize the melody that brings back to our mind the riff of “Dreamscape”. This songs is a pure blast. “Waking Up The Damned”, the second single that also included a videoclip for this track, is a genuine and a very rhythmic tune and the main characters here are keyboards and guitars. Perhaps the most cherished song here is “Ambivalentine”, the keyboards magnificently played by Eve are flawless, I love the various vocal changes and the guitars played by Resistor and Mr Downhill are absolutely the leading role. “Black Light Supernova” starts off with the keyboards and then we get Tommy‘s voice, which is kinda turned out (transformed) to be a powerful ‘roar’. Everything is perfect in this song. The catchy “Dreamscape” gives us great keyboard parts and a bass solo. One of the most energetic songs we can find on the album is “Rats in the Cradle”, I think the sound is much sought. “Ghost in Me” is a really good track. In “Mechanimal Instinct” Tommy shows how he’s able also to sing using the clean vocals. “The Final Skyline” is a bit more melodic, it’s a song in which I really want to emphasize the remarkable work of the keyboards. The album ends up with the title track that is an excellent track, imo.

The whole album is something great, everything is well-thought, full of details, valued, starting from the lyrics and ending to the rhythmic changes. MyGrain brings up the name of Finland in the world of the metal music scene.

Rating – 90/100



  1. Incantation
  2. Waking Up The Damned
  3. Ambivalentine
  4. Black Light Supernova
  5. Dreamscape
  6. Rats In The Cradle
  7. Ghost In Me
  8. Mechanimal Instinct
  9. The Final Skyline
  10. Planetary Breathing


Line Up

  • Tuomas Tuovinen – Vocals
  • Teemu Ylämäki – Lead guitar
  • Joni Lahdenkauppi – Guitar
  • Eve Kojo – Keyboards
  • Jonas Kuhlberg – Bass
  • Janne Mikael Manninen – Drums


Facebook * Twitter * Site

You May Also Like

Devin Townsend Project – “Z²” (2014)

Label: Century Media Records Review by Tony Cannella Devin Townsend is one talented dude. I don’t think that’s really a revolutionary statement. He’s a multi-instrumentalist, lyricist, showman, multi-tasker, all of…
View Post