Myrkur – “M” (2015)


Label: Relapse Records

Review by Alysha Hayden

MYRKUR which means darkness in Icelandic is the black metal pseudonym for Danish musician, Amalie Bruun who blew me away with her LP, “M”. “M” opens with “Skøgen Skulle Dø” which enchants with a pirate style big sound. It’s the kind of track you’d expect to find on the soundtrack to the next blockbuster pirate movie. The first moment we hear MYRKUR’s vocals it’s a scream that brings about images of hauntings and cursed sailors. Then “M” moves onto “Hævnen” which has a more traditional metal guitar intro onto which MYRKUR gives us her amazing black metal vocals. This album will seriously surprise you knowing that one woman creates all the vocals you hear. Track after track, I was blown away by her range. MYRKUR is a very talented woman. “Vølvens Spådom” has an angelic sound of a choir in a massive cathedral which leads straight into “Jeg er Guden, I er Tjenerne” where the guitars join in to create a very progressive track in my opinion. “Byssan Lull” is a sweet lullaby with a more classical sound which might seem out of place on this album to some, however I feel it gives a more well-rounded reflection of MYRKUR’s sound. “Norn” closes off this LP with some beautiful keys to reflect on the journey that “M” has taken you on. I loved the composition and my only complaint was that it was too short. I could happily listen to this for hours. Overall this album I felt hit many different genres, classical, cathedral, black metal, progressive, Nordic and probably a few more. It came across very eclectic and contemporary. I enjoyed the cross pollination of these sounds on the album and will certainly be looking forward to what MYRKUR delivers next in this genre.

Review – 70/100


Line Up

  • Myrkur – Piano, guitars & vocals
  • Teloch – Additional guitars & bass
  • Øyvind Myrvoll – Drums
  • Ole-Henrik Moe –  Íslensk fiðla, hardingfele & violin
  • Håvard Jørgensen – Acoustic guitar
  • Tone Reichelt – Horn
  • Martin Taxt – Tuba
  • Christopher Amott – Additional guitars on “Mordet”



  1. Skøgen Skulle Dø
  2. Hævnen
  3. Onde Børn
  4. Vølvens Spådom
  5. Jeg er Guden, I er Tjenerne
  6. Nordlys
  7. Mordet
  8. Byssan Lull
  9. Dybt i Skoven
  10. Skadi
  11. Norn


You May Also Like

Devin Townsend Project – “Z²” (2014)

Label: Century Media Records Review by Tony Cannella Devin Townsend is one talented dude. I don’t think that’s really a revolutionary statement. He’s a multi-instrumentalist, lyricist, showman, multi-tasker, all of…
View Post