Night Viper – “Night Viper” (2015)


Label: Svart Records

Review by Tony Cannella

Hailing from Gothenburg, Sweden, Night Viper is a powerful metal band. Earlier in 2015 they released their debut single and now have unleashed their debut full-length album via Svart Records. Night Viper plays a pretty straight-forward and hard charging brand of metal. This album opens with the bombastic, go-for-the-throat song Night Viper and segues perfectly into “The Hammer”. The 7-minute “Curse of a Thousand Deaths” is next and slows the tempo down with its moodiness and dark vibe before the song takes off and becomes a heavy and melodic masterpiece – this is without a doubt my favorite song. Night Viper mixes influences that range from power metal to classic metal and a touch of New Wave of British Heavy Metal. That might be subjective, so I would say Night Viper is metal in its purest form. The band blasts through other great tracks such as “Run For Cover”, “Warrior Woman” and “The Wolverine”. Night Viper has released a debut that should be music to the ears of metal fans everywhere, particularly if you like a bit of old school with modern touches. This is a band that I would wager that we’ll be hearing more from in 2016. I loved this record!

Rating – 95/100



  1. Night Viper
  2. The Hammer
  3. Curse of a Thousand Deaths
  4. Run for Cover
  5. Warrior Woman
  6. Faces in the Mirror
  7. Never Be Enslaved
  8. Dagger in Hand
  9. The Wolverine


  • Sofie-Lee Johansson – Vocals
  • Emil Ridderstolpe – Guitars
  • Tom Sutton – Guitars
  • Ruben Åhlander Persson – Bass
  • Jonna Karlsson – Drums

You May Also Like

Devin Townsend Project – “Z²” (2014)

Label: Century Media Records Review by Tony Cannella Devin Townsend is one talented dude. I don’t think that’s really a revolutionary statement. He’s a multi-instrumentalist, lyricist, showman, multi-tasker, all of…
View Post