Nightwish –- ““Vehicle of Spirit”” DVD (2016)


Label: Nuclear Blast

Review by Tony Cannella

At this point, Nightwish is probably an iconic band in the world of symphonic metal. Their popularity has transcended the genre and show no signs of slowing down. Like previous tours, the “”Endless Forms Most Beautiful”” jaunt was a wildly successful marathon, and the band just happened to have camera’s rolling throughout. So, just in time for Christmas, Nightwish has presented us with a brand-new DVD package consisting of two complete shows and some cool bonus material from the “Endless Forms Most Beautiful” tour. The first disc is the Wembley show in London. At this point, Nightwish is working like a well-oiled machine and their live shows are pure magic, and this DVD captures that perfectly. The band delivers a solid performance from start-to-finish, and it is great to see an “oldie” like ““Stargazers”” return to the live set. The performance is concluded with an appearance by Richard Dawkins doing some narration. A perfect way to end what was already a great performance. Disc two is another live show, this time from Nightwish‘’s hometown of Tampere, Finland. The set-list is a bit different than the London gig. Some of the songs are performed in a different order and songs like ““She Is My Sin””, ““Dark Chest of Wonders”” and “”Sleeping Sun”” make a welcomed appearance. The 3rd disc features assorted live clips and an interview with Richard Dawkins. The highlights for me was Sonata Arctica vocalist Tony Kakko joining the band on stage for “”Last Ride of the Day””, as well as the interview with Mr. Dawkins. With Nightwish pretty much taking 2017 off this DVD package will pretty much have to hold the fan base over until then. Thankfully, ““Vehicle of Spirit”” is a tremendously well done package that I am sure will be fun to visit and re-visit over and over and over again.

Rating – 100/100



Wembley Stadium – London, England (DVD 1)

  1. Shudder Before the Beautiful
  2. Yours Is An Empty Hope
  3. Ever Dream
  4. Storytime
  5. My Walden
  6. While Your Lips Are Still Red
  7. Élan
  8. Weak Fantasy
  9. 7 Days to the Wolves
  10. Alpenglow
  11. The Poet and the Pendulum
  12.  Nemo 4:53
  13. I Want My Tears Back
  14. Stargazers
  15. Ghost Love Score
  16. Last Ride of the Day
  17. The Greatest Show On Earth


Ratina Stadion – Tampere, Finland (DVD 2)

  1. Shudder Before the Beautiful
  2. Yours Is An Empty Hope
  3. Amaranth
  4. She Is My Sin
  5. Dark Chest of Wonders
  6. My Walden
  7. The Islander
  8. Élan
  9. Weak Fantasy
  10. Storytime
  11. Endless Forms Most Beautiful
  12. Alpenglow
  13. Stargazers
  14. Sleeping Sun
  15. Ghost Love Score
  16. Last Ride of the Day
  17. The Greatest Show On Earth


Bonus Material (DVD 3)

  1. Weak Fantasy
  2. Nemo
  3. The Poet and the Pendulum
  4. Yours Is An Empty Hope
  5. 7 Days to the Wolves
  6. Sleeping Sun
  7. Sahara
  8. Edema Ruh (Acoustic)
  9. Last Ride of the Day (feat. Tony Kakko from Sonata Arctica)
  10. Élan
  11. Richard Dawkins Interview


Line Up

  • Floor Jansen – Lead Vocals
  • Emppu Vuorinen – Lead Guitar
  • Tuomas Holopainen – Keyboards
  • Marco Hietala – Bass & Vocals
  • •Troy Donockley – Uillean Pipes, Tin Whistle & Guitars
  • Kai Hahto – Drums


You May Also Like

Devin Townsend Project – “Z²” (2014)

Label: Century Media Records Review by Tony Cannella Devin Townsend is one talented dude. I don’t think that’s really a revolutionary statement. He’s a multi-instrumentalist, lyricist, showman, multi-tasker, all of…
View Post