No More Speech – “No More Speech” (2012)


Label : Massive Arts

Review by Matteo Bussotti

With their debut album, No More Speech surely want a place for themselves among the high-rated metal bands. One thing I can say, is that, with a beginning like this, they surely are on a good way to reach the top. Already famous for their concert activity, which brought them to play to play at Heineken Jammin’ Festival, opening for Aerosmith, in 2010.

Alteria, their singer, is mostly famous for her work as a TV host on RockTv, but surely No More Speech‘s debut album doesn’t rely itself on the “already famous” factor, but gives us solid and enjoyable riffs and rhythms, with a great musical taste. All the songs distinguish themselves for a very fast-paced rhythm, with a mixture of Alteria‘s “grungy” voice e metal rhytmics. Even if all the songs are belong to the “metal” genre, thinking that they’re all a-like it’s a huge mistake. No More Speech put in their album so many different rhythms that it would be almost an offense to classify them as “metal”, or “hard rock”. We can always find some very fast riffs, with sustained drums and Alteria‘s loud singing, but the disc doesn’t end here. In “B-Plan”, for example, we find a more complex rhythmic, with a singing that sounds like rap, for example, or Rage Against The Machine. It’s not difficult to find a deep search for the “groove” in this album, a characteristic that makes NMS different from all the “400 BPM, noise-wall riffs” bands. Even when their sound is more heavy, it’s still very enjoyable, melodic in a certain way, and surely “groovy”: you’ll never get tired while listening this album.

Another notable examples are the opening track, “Lying Queen”, which gives us a rush of adrenaline, or “Bonjour” in which Alteria‘s voice gives its best, modulating many different sounds, from rage screams to melodic verses. “Void” offers us a grat break from the album, also because it’s in its middle: made of an electronic intro, its “haunting” atmosphere creates a great hyatus with the rest of the album, transporting us with its stream of notes and soft sounds, before striking us with the usual loud chorus. The ending of the CD gives a really great surprise: a cover, extremely well made, of Frankie Goes To Hollywood‘s “Relax”, witnessing NMS‘ ability and wide range of musical influences and tastes. Nothing is useless in this CD, nothing is inappropriate. There are not many solos, because it is not a “baroque metal” CD, and there are neither too many ballad, because it’s not “soft rock”. No More Speech gives us an energicCD, where everything is delivered when it’s needed, and the way it’s needed, with great vocals, stunning energy, groovy and technically beautiful rhythms, with a great work from everyone. Strummer said that “Future is unwritten”, but with a beginning like this, I guess No More Speech clearly have a very good future ahead.

Rating – 80/100



  1. Lying Queen
  2. Bonjour
  3. Think or Feel
  4. Stronger
  5. B-plan
  6. Picture of Gold
  7. Void
  8. Here and Now
  9. No Reason
  10. Relax
  11. Screaming for Nothing


Line Up

  • Alteria – Vocals
  • Tony Cordaro – Guitar
  • Fernando De Luca – Bass
  • Roby Fabiani – Drums


Alteria : Facebook * Twitter

You May Also Like

Devin Townsend Project – “Z²” (2014)

Label: Century Media Records Review by Tony Cannella Devin Townsend is one talented dude. I don’t think that’s really a revolutionary statement. He’s a multi-instrumentalist, lyricist, showman, multi-tasker, all of…
View Post