Only Fate Remains – “Breathe” (2011)


Label : Ravenheart Music

Review by Tony Cannella

From Holland, Only Fate Remains is formerly known as Trisomy and were formed in 1996. They released three demos under that moniker before changing their name to their current one. This brings us to 2011 and the debut full-length from Only Fate Remains “Breathe”. The music on “Breathe” is some high quality melodic metal that has drawn favorable comparisons to such bands as Evanescence, Lacuna Coil and The Gathering. That is not a bad trio to be compared to.

From the opening track of “Nightly Walks” it becomes apparent that Only Fate Remains has something a little different to offer that many of the current female fronted bands. They eschew the usage of grunt vocals, orchestras and operatic vocals. Instead they opt for a more organic sound that emphasizes the heavy guitars and Eva Kokken’s excellent, clean vocals. My favorite song is the more up-tempo “Fall”. This track would make an excellent single/video, in my opinion and a song that I would play for anyone who has not yet heard the band. “Shallow Water” is buoyed by an excellent guitar riff which is complimented by the vocals and Maarten Siem’s keyboard work, but it is this huge guitar riff that really makes this song work for me. 

The impressive “The Essence” is up next and features a number of tempo changes and even though it is only 6-minutes long it has the feel of an epic. “The Real You” is next and the first video track, which you can check out on YouTube and their official web site. The usage of keyboards is quite well done. Some people feel keyboards don’t belong in metal. Me? I’ve always liked them as long as it doesn’t overwhelm the songs and the band doesn’t get too ‘keyboard happy’, that is not a problem on “Breathe”, the keyboards are there to enhance the music and that it does. Color me impressed. I had only heard bits and pieces of Only Fate Remains in the past, so it is nice to hear a full-length to form an overall opinion of the band. “Breathe” is a strong debut and one grabs you from the very outset. Sure they evoke comparisons to bands like Evanescence, Lacuna Coil and The Gathering, but in my opinion, Only Fate Remains is sure to break out and forge their own path in melodic metal. Kudos to RavenHeart music for signing this band.

Rating – 85/100



  1. Nightly Walks
  2. Fall
  3. Shallow Water
  4. The Essence
  5. The Real You
  6. Cravings
  7. Lost
  8. Heal Me
  9. Imprisoned


Line Up

  • Eva Kokken – Vocals
  • Michiel van Veen – Guitar
  • Jacques Maas – Guitar
  • Maarten Siem – Synth
  • Pieter van den Berkmortel – Bass
  • Marc Bruijn – Drums


MySpace * Facebook * Twitter *Site

You May Also Like

Devin Townsend Project – “Z²” (2014)

Label: Century Media Records Review by Tony Cannella Devin Townsend is one talented dude. I don’t think that’s really a revolutionary statement. He’s a multi-instrumentalist, lyricist, showman, multi-tasker, all of…
View Post