Paramore – “Paramore” (Deluxe Edition) (2014)


Label: Fueled by Ramen/Warner Music

Review by Tony Cannella

Formed in Tennessee in 2004, Paramore first rose to prominence with their fantastic second album “Riot!” in 2007. That album was a great edgy punk pop record. With their self-titled 4th album – which was released last year – the band has maintained that edginess whilst also maturing as songwriters and musicians. Over a year after its release, Paramore has given their self-titled album the “deluxe” treatment. In addition to the regular album you can find 12 additional songs from bonus songs to alternate versions of songs to a bunch of live songs. It’s actually a really nice deal.

This is definitely a grown up more mature version of Paramore. The first part of this set is the 60-minute original album. Is every song great? No. Are the great songs great? Abso-freakin-lutely. “Paramore” is an inspired record which sees the band trying new things with mostly positive results. “Ain’t It Fun” for instance is a song that definitely stood out. This song features a rich church choir type chorus which is just huge. “Fast in My Car” is a great opener and the second track “Now” is a bouncy, infectious up-tempo tune. “Still Into You” is another favorite. “Proof” has a great heavy opening riff and a chorus that is downright catchy as hell.

The second part of the album features a duet between Hayley Williams and Joy Williams (I have no idea if they’re related) on the ballad “Hate to See Your Heart Break” which is really cool. After three bonus songs “Escape Route”, “Native Tongue” and “Tell Me It’s Okay”, this collection is completed with 8-songs recorded live at Red Rocks. The songs are energetic and definitely capture a live feel.

I loved the “Riot!” record but was not particularly impressed with “Brand New Eyes” and Paramore kind of dropped off my radar. Well, with their self-titled album (and now the deluxe version), not only are they back on my radar but I don’t think it is a stretch to say that this is their best album.

Rating – 90/100



  1. Fast In My Car
  2. Now
  3. Grow Up
  4. Daydreaming
  5. Interlude: Moving On
  6. Ain’t It Fun
  7. Part II
  8. Last Hope
  9. Still Into You
  10. Anklebiters
  11. Interlude: Holiday
  12. Proof
  13. Hate to See Your Heart Break
  14. (One of Those) Crazy Girls
  15. Interlude: I’m Not Angry Anymore
  16. Be Alone
  17. Future
  18. Hate to See Your Heart Break (feat. Joy Williams)
  19. Escape Route (Bonus Track)
  20. Native Tongue (Bonus Track)
  21. Tell Me It’s Okay (Self-Titled Demo)
  22. Still Into You (Live at Red Rocks)
  23. Decode (Live at Red Rocks)
  24. The Only Exception (Live at Red Rocks)
  25. Brick by Boring Brick (Live at Red Rocks)
  26. Let the Flames Begin (Live at Red Rocks)
  27. Part II (Live at Red Rocks)
  28. Proof (Live at Red Rocks)
  29. Ain’t It Fun (Live at Red Rocks)


Line Up

  • Hayley Williams – Lead Vocals
  • Taylor York – Lead/Rhythm Guitar
  • Jeremy Davis – Bass


Facebook * Twitter * Site

You May Also Like

Devin Townsend Project – “Z²” (2014)

Label: Century Media Records Review by Tony Cannella Devin Townsend is one talented dude. I don’t think that’s really a revolutionary statement. He’s a multi-instrumentalist, lyricist, showman, multi-tasker, all of…
View Post