Poemisia – “La Danza degli Spiriti” (2013)


Label: Spider Rock Promotions

Review by Tony Cannella

Poemisia is a Symphonic/Operatic metal band from Italy. Their debut album is out now and it is titled, “La Danza Degli Spiriti” and for fans of the operatic stuff, this is a seriously beautiful and sincere album.

There is no denying that Poemisia will be compared to classic Nightwish and not just due to the opera vocals, but the music and the arrangements have the same type of vibe as well. About 90% of the lyrics are sung in the bands native Italian language and among the 10-songs and 50-minutes worth of music, there is a lot to be enthusiastic about. The album flows rather nicely from song-to-song with each track having its own identity and the band manages to keep things interesting and the good vibes flowing. In addition to the wonderful opera vocals of Tina Gagliotta (she really is fabulous), Poemisia can also boast the fact that they have some outstanding musicians and writers in their midst. “La Danza Degli Spiriti” is a cool debut and it is a cut above your average opera influenced metal stuff.

Rating – 87/100



  1. Prologo
  2. Cruda Amarilli
  3. Amnesia
  4. La Danza Degli Spiriti
  5. Our Star
  6. Sonata Al Crepuscolo
  7. The Awakening
  8. The Innocence of a Dead Child
  9. Ars Moriendi
  10. Anemone


Line Up

  • Tina Gagliotta – Vocals
  • Marco Monaco – Guitar
  • Ciro Scognamiglio – Bass
  • Giuseppe Carillo – Keys
  • Vincenzo Grande – Drums


Facebook * Twitter * Site

You May Also Like

Devin Townsend Project – “Z²” (2014)

Label: Century Media Records Review by Tony Cannella Devin Townsend is one talented dude. I don’t think that’s really a revolutionary statement. He’s a multi-instrumentalist, lyricist, showman, multi-tasker, all of…
View Post