Pokerface – “Divide and Rule” (2015)


Label: Irond/Molot

Review by Alysha Hayden

Pokerface are a Russian thrash metal band formed in Moscow in 2013. With brilliant stage names, Pokerface are: The Doctor on drums, DezMoroz on bass, Delirium Tremens on vocals, Maniac and Nick on guitars.
Firstly I have to mention the cover art for “Divide and Rule”. A game of poker between the Devil, Hitler, Osama Bin Laden, Stalin, a dead American (I’m assuming from the hat. Perhaps a president?) and the listener. We can’t see what cards the Devil is holding but I think that’s the point. He’s controlling the game and has everyone right where he wants them. It’s an excellent creative choice of cover. The album launches straight into a classic thrasher sound with “All is Lie” which sets the scene for this underworld album with demonic lyrics. “The Chessboard Killer” is a great track that I’m sure was a partial influence for the cover art with its artistic tone. “Into the Inferno” calls the listener down into the depths of the Devil’s pit and welcomes them in their own fiery way. This album certainly gives a big nod to their influencers in Slayer, Testament, Sodom and Kreator. The lyrics for “Killed by Me” are certainly worth listening for, the juxtapose of life, judgement and punishment being vetted out accordingly. I thoroughly enjoyed the creativity in the lyrics of this album. Pokerface have spent a significant period touring of late, surrounded by some of the greats in their genre, Sepultura to name one. I look forward to hearing what they come up with next as they’re cementing their place in demonic thrasher hell with “Divide and Rule”. In case you’ve misunderstood, that isn’t a bad thing, not at all.

Review – 80/100



  1. All Is Lie
  2. Kingdom of Fare
  3. The Chessboard Killer (Extended)
  4. Existence
  5. Into the Inferno
  6. Human Control
  7. Age of Terrorism
  8. Killed by Me
  9. Shut Up!
  10. Divide and Rule


Line Up

  • Alena “Delirium Tremens” Yashkina – Vocals
  • Egor “Maniac” Loktev – Guitar
  • Nikita “Nick” Chernyavsky – Guitar
  • Dmitry “DedMoroz” Morozov – Bass
  • Oles “Doctor” Pisarenko – Drums



You May Also Like

Devin Townsend Project – “Z²” (2014)

Label: Century Media Records Review by Tony Cannella Devin Townsend is one talented dude. I don’t think that’s really a revolutionary statement. He’s a multi-instrumentalist, lyricist, showman, multi-tasker, all of…
View Post