Psychogod – “Alone” (2012)


Independent Release

Review by Davide Torresan

Psychogod is a Romanian metal band formed at the end of 2009. It was born from the idea of Dank (guitar) and Cristina (vocals) of forming a band with an aggressive style. They decided to mix some musical genres like hardcore, death and black metal. After they’ve completed the line-up with a bassist and a drummer and done some concerts with some renowned bands of the Romanian metal scene, they decided to write their first self-released album, “Alone”.
It’s hard to describe the global sound of this album.

The conclusion I have reached is that this album is really difficult to listen. You can’t distinguish a song from another, whereby you seem to listen to a single song. The good news is that the guitars and the drums are really well played, so you feel that the musicians are really skilled and prepared. The gloomy and devilish atmospheres are emphasized by the growl and the screams of the singer. Cristina is able to switch between the two styles, but this is not entirely convincing. I can mention “Against the World” with its pounding drum and heavy guitar riffs, or the powerful growl of FLIP of “Negative Core”, but the real problem is that it’s really hard to arrive at the end without yawning. In conclusion, Psychogod has not been able to offer something original with this debut album. The limits of a self-released album and the choice to exclude the use of the keyboards in 2010, have undermined their potentialities. Focusing on this instrument they would have been able to propose a sound more mature and various. You feel strongly this absence. Indeed you have the feeling that something is missing. And a possible loss of Psychogod in the future of metal music would surely not be tragic.

Rating – 60/100



  1. Godphobia
  2. Against The War
  3. Rise
  4. Alone
  5. Blind
  6. We Are Not
  7. Inferior
  8. Gunshot


Line Up

  • Cristina -Vocals
  • Dank – Rhythm guitar
  • Mausy – Lead guitar
  • Dragos – Bass
  • Andrei – Drums


MySpace * Facebook * Site

You May Also Like

Devin Townsend Project – “Z²” (2014)

Label: Century Media Records Review by Tony Cannella Devin Townsend is one talented dude. I don’t think that’s really a revolutionary statement. He’s a multi-instrumentalist, lyricist, showman, multi-tasker, all of…
View Post