Pursuing the End – “The Symmetry of Scorn” (2013)


Label: Bakerteam Records

Review by Tony Cannella

From Italy, the thrash/death metal band Pursuing the End formed in 2010 and released their debut EP “Dawn of Expiation” in 2011. In 2012 the band released the three song single “Withering”. Following some key line-up changes including the addition of new female vocalist Chiara Manese (formerly of Astral Dive and Inside Mankind) Pursuing the End returns with their debut full-length “The Symmetry of Scorn”. To put it simply, Pursuing the End is back with a vengeance.

The opener “The Last Truth” begins with a techno style intro before evolving into a chaotic thrash tune with chugging guitars and lightning fast riffs. Male vocalist Giacomo Benamati offers some mean sounding vocals whilst Chiara Manese puts her own angelic stamp to the songs. This is only the beginning and from there Pursuing the End maintains a high level of intensity throughout the disc. “Something Remains” picks right up where the previous song left off. PTE adds generous amounts of melody to go along with the thrash mayhem, and that is always a cool thing. “Cage of Hypocrisy” begins with an acoustic intro before delving into doom metal territory and then picking up the tempo as the song proceeds. There are a lot of great moments to be had on “The Symmetry of Scorn”, some examples of this are: “From the Ashes”, “In Vain” and “Out of Control”. Also worthy of mention is the excellent lead guitar courtesy of Davide Rinaldi, but the whole band is great musically.

With “The Symmetry of Scorn”, Pursuing the End puts it all together. While “Dawn of Expiation” and “Withering” were okay, “The Symmetry of Scorn” brings things to a much higher level.

Rating – 85/100



  1. The Last Truth
  2. Something Remains
  3. Cage of Hypocrisy
  4. From the Ashes
  5. In Vain
  6. Mercyful Vengeance
  7. Human Revulsion
  8. Out of Control
  9. Symmetry of Scorn
  10. Changes


Line Up

  • Giacomo Benamati -Vocals
  • Chiara Manese – Vocals
  • Davide Rinaldi – Guitars, Lead Guitars
  • Thomas Pipitone – Guitars
  • Luca Cocconi – Bass
  • Gregorio Ferrarese – Drums


Facebook * Twitter * Site

You May Also Like

Devin Townsend Project – “Z²” (2014)

Label: Century Media Records Review by Tony Cannella Devin Townsend is one talented dude. I don’t think that’s really a revolutionary statement. He’s a multi-instrumentalist, lyricist, showman, multi-tasker, all of…
View Post