Label: Sliptrick Records

Review by CriX

Reveries End is a melancholic metal band from Finland. “Edge of Dark Waters” is the first album released from this young band that was recorded at the the Transcendental Studio and D-Studio, mixed by Tuomas Kokko at Electric Fox Studios and mastered by Jaakko Viitalähde. Listening to this album, it feels like to be throw in a dark forest and the emotions emerge from the skin and it crosses nightmares and anxieties. Sariina‘s voice is the band’s tradmark and she has a sort of double identity: the gentle and powerful mezzo-soprano against the rasp and angry growl-voice that intersect between the melancholy notes of the 8 tracks of this full-length. The guitar riffs are well designed, the progressive influences are strong and it fits throughout the album. The rhythmic work is an excellent base on which everything else is perfectly get perched on. “Unwind” is a fast track in which a lot of growl-voice is used. Instead, the guitar arpeggios on “Descent” turn on in a more pushed up-tempo, the prog influences of its refain and the emotional vocals make of this song one of the best from this full-lenght. Another highlight is “Hamartia” with its unique vocals and syncopated rhythm. This band has a lot of potential but the sad news is that the vocalist Sariina has left the band and now their are looking for a new singer and we hope to hear soon new material from Reveries End. If you are a fan of Katatonia, Ghost Brigade and Leaves Eyes surely you will enjoy this album.

Rating – 75/100



  1. A Thousand Facets
  2. Unwind
  3. Mute
  4. Descent
  5. Tomorrow’s Fool
  6. Hamartia
  7. Scales of Night
  8. Reveries End


Line Up

  • Sariina Tani – Vocals
  • Veli-Matti Olkinuora – Guitar
  • Kristian Valjakka – Guitar
  • Jaakko Oksanen – Bass
  • Timo Klinga – Drums



Latest posts by Miriam Cadoni (see all)