Independent Release

Review by Tony Cannella

What is there for me to say about the Dutch melodic rock band Rouge? Will I love this band do? Okay, their debut self-titled EP features only 3-songs and 11-minutes worth of playing time, but so far I’ve liked what I’ve heard. Their songs are just loaded with a youthful fun energy and on their debut EP; you get a taste of what this band is all about.

The infectious, upbeat energy of the opener “On A Ride (All Summer Long)” gets things started, this is just an excellent, high energy and fun opener and one that sets the tone right away. A great and memorable chorus highlights this song and makes it one of my favorites. “Innocent” is next and starts off with a slower tempo and has a hard pop feeling to it at the beginning, before the song really kicks in. When the song speeds up, Rouge displays a ton of energy and the songs have a live feel to them. If they have this much energy on stage, then their live shows must be a treat. A male vocalist can be heard on the chorus of “Innocent”. “Opposite Directions” closes the album on a heartfelt, poignant note.

I see no reason why Rouge can’t be a huge success in the world of melodic hard rock, the songs have a definite infectious charm to them and are instantly like-able, and Rouge is a band that I can’t help but root for. Granted, these are only three songs, so it will be interesting to see if they can sustain this level of excellence on a 9 or 10 song full-length. I can’t wait to find out.

Rating – 90/100



  1. On a Ride (All Summer Long)
  2. Innocent
  3. Opposite Directions


Line Up

  • Barthelijne Weijs – Vocals
  • Ulrich Schadeck – Guitars
  • Thijs Oosterhof – Bass
  • Kris Lucas – Drums



Facebook * Site


Latest posts by Miriam Cadoni (see all)