Sacred Groove – “Needful Things” (2011)


Independent Release

Review by Tony Cannella

Sacred Groove is a melodic hard rock band from Germany. They were formed in 2006 and released their first demo in 2009. In 2011 the band released their debut album entitled, “Needful Things”. Sacred Groove offers up a debut of 10-songs and 52-minutes worth of guitar oriented hard rock with vocalist Isabel Willenberg out front with her angelic vocal delivery.

“Needful Things” gets off to a great start with the two best songs. “Angel in the Sky” and “Waking Dream” is both excellent. They are powered by some fantastic guitar work from Dennis Meivogel and he does an excellent job throughout the CD. “Unholy House” keeps things going in a positive direction. Songs like “Nature of the Beast”, “She Braves the Storm” and “Needful Things” are well written, produced and performed.

I liked “Needful Things” but honestly there is nothing about Sacred Groove that makes them stand out. The songs are good and they seem to put a lot of care and attention to detail on their debut album, but I still can’t help but think that this band is capable of bigger and better things. Only time will tell.

Rating – 72/100



  1. Angel in the Sky
  2. Waking Dream
  3. Unholy House
  4. Nature of the Beast
  5. Follow The Call
  6. This Way Called Life
  7. Deep In His Mind
  8. Broken Flower
  9. She Braves the Storm
  10. Needful Things


Line Up

  • Isabel Willenberg – Vocals
  • Dennis Meivogel – Guitars
  • Chris Schlotfeldt – Bass
  • Jüppi Püllen – Keyboards
  • Stefan Deiners – Drums


Facebook * Site

You May Also Like

Devin Townsend Project – “Z²” (2014)

Label: Century Media Records Review by Tony Cannella Devin Townsend is one talented dude. I don’t think that’s really a revolutionary statement. He’s a multi-instrumentalist, lyricist, showman, multi-tasker, all of…
View Post