Savage Master – “With Whips and Chains” (2016)


Label: High Roller Records/Skol Records

Review by Tony Cannella

Savage Master were formed in 2013 in Louisville, Kentucky.  They released their debut “Mask of the Devil” in 2014 and now return with a brand-new album filled some classic style 80s metal goodness entitled, “With Whips and Chains”. If anyone has seen some of Savage Master’s live YouTube videos – or if you have not, I would suggest you do so now – the band has an interesting and unique presentation.  The band dresses in executioner style garb complete with hoods hiding their identities with lead vocalist Stacey Peak out in front (the only one whose identity is not concealed) leading the charge.  You can have the greatest image in the history of humankind, but if you don’t have the material to go with it, it is completely worthless.  Luckily, happily Savage Master does indeed have the songs and then some.  Singing a lot about occult themes, Savage Master is a pure metal band in all its glory.  The intro “Call of the Master” segues beautifully into “Dark Light of the Moon”. Songs like “With Whips and Chains”, “Vengeance is Steel” and “Looking for a Sacrifice” are all songs that will get you to throw your fists in the air and bang those heads ferociously. “Satan’s Crown” shows no signs of let up or fatigue and the drums on this song from Zach Harris are relentless and totally drives the track. Another favorite is “Black Hooves”and really, by this point the band shows no signs of slowing down or softening up their sound. Savage Master is a riled up beast of a band and make no mistake about it, “With Whips and Chains” is pure 80s style metal awesomeness. “With Whips and Chains” certainly brings back memories of the 80s but in 2016 is still sounds fresh as ever.

Rating – 95/100



  1. Call of the Master
  2. Dark Light of the Moon
  3. With Whips and Chains
  4. Path of the Necromancer
  5. Vengeance Is Steel
  6. Looking for a Sacrifice
  7. Satan’s Crown
  8. Burned at the Stake
  9. Black Hooves
  10. Ready to Sin


Line Up

  • Stacey Peak – Vocals
  • Larry Myers – Guitars
  • Adam Neal – Guitars
  • Brandon Brown – Bass
  • Zach Harris – Drums

You May Also Like

Devin Townsend Project – “Z²” (2014)

Label: Century Media Records Review by Tony Cannella Devin Townsend is one talented dude. I don’t think that’s really a revolutionary statement. He’s a multi-instrumentalist, lyricist, showman, multi-tasker, all of…
View Post