Second Empire – “Second Empire” EP (2013)


Independent Release

Review by Tony Cannella

It’s good to see more and more symphonic metal coming from the U.S. lately. Pittsburgh’s Second Empire is one such band – and a good one at that. They have just issued their debut self-titled EP and after listening, I have to say that this band has a lot to offer.

The keyboard intro kicks off the opening tune “Everlasting” as the rumbling guitars join in. Lead vocalist Alex Lindsay Roth has a cool mid-range voice. This song really takes off in different directions with a strong orchestral part and a great solo. The next track, “Hold Me (‘Til We’re Both Dead)” gets started with a piano intro before the song steadily picks up the tempo. Still, this is a great mid-tempo song and one with an undeniably catchy melody and chorus. I loved this song! The 8-minute “Paradox Nightmare” is one of the heavier ones. The next track “Sorrow My Savior” starts as a ballad before progressively picking up the tempo and heaviness. The EP closes with the straight-forward “The Valley Beneath” to end things on a high note.

I enjoyed the Second Empire EP. Going forward, I have every confidence that this band has the ability to make a killer full-length. If you are a fan of Within Temptation, Delain and other bands of that style then I would strongly recommend Second Empire.

Rating – 84/100



  1. Everlasting
  2. Hold Me (‘Til We’re Both Dead)
  3. Paradox Nightmare
  4. Sorrow My Savior
  5. The Valley Beneath



  • Alex Lindsay Roth – Lead Vocals/Keyboards
  • Bret Stark- Lead Guitar/Vocals
  • Matt Kastner – Drums/Percussion



You May Also Like

Devin Townsend Project – “Z²” (2014)

Label: Century Media Records Review by Tony Cannella Devin Townsend is one talented dude. I don’t think that’s really a revolutionary statement. He’s a multi-instrumentalist, lyricist, showman, multi-tasker, all of…
View Post