Selene – “Among the Frozen” EP (2013)


Independent Release

Review by Tony Cannella

The symphonic metal band Selene hails from Northern Ireland and was formed in 2013. They have recently released their debut EP “Among the Frozen”. The band blends an atmospheric approach with crunchy riffs and operatic vocals to produce a 6-song and 24-minute slice of symphonic heaven.

“Peace of Mind” is a fast paced up-tempo of an opener with a bit of an old school Nightwish vibe. “Till the End” begins with a heavy riff and the song quickly develops into a melodic metal tune and one of the best on this EP. “End of it All” has a moody vibe going for it and it also features male vocals provided by guitarist/keyboardist John Connor. Next is the melancholic piano ballad “Ghost”. This is a beautiful song and Shonagh’s vocals are just pure magic. “The Codex” is next and is a straight instrumental before “Rain” brings the EP to a close. I was quite impressed with “Among the Frozen”. For a band that has been together for a short amount of time Selene has released a pretty cool debut.

Rating – 79/100



  1. Peace of Mind
  2. ‘Til the Shadows
  3. End of it All
  4. Ghost
  5. The Codex
  6. Rain


Line Up

  • Shonagh Lyons – Vocals
  • John Connor – Guitar, Keyboards (vocals on track 3)
  • Thomas Alford – Bass
  • Cameron Åhslund-Glass – Drums


Facebook * Links

You May Also Like

Devin Townsend Project – “Z²” (2014)

Label: Century Media Records Review by Tony Cannella Devin Townsend is one talented dude. I don’t think that’s really a revolutionary statement. He’s a multi-instrumentalist, lyricist, showman, multi-tasker, all of…
View Post