Selene – “Paradise Over” EP (2014)


Independent Release

Review by Tony Cannella

Selene is a symphonic metal band from Northern Ireland. The band was formed in March of 2013 by guitarist John Connor and vocalist Shonagh Lyons. Shortly after their inception Selene released their debut EP “Among the Frozen”, which was well received. After a few single releases, Selene returns with a new 6-song, 27-minute EP entitled “Paradise Over”.

Selene carries a big, dramatic symphonic metal style and the operatic vocals of Shonagh Lyons have earned them rave reviews and a comparison to Nightwish. The opening song, “Facing the Mirror” pretty much sets the table and will do nothing to dissuade those Nightwish comparisons. The next track, “Not Enough” starts out reminding me of early Queensryche a bit before settling into a nice mid-tempo groove as Shonagh joins in with her vocals. “Still Dreaming” starts off with some very pretty piano before a bombastic riff joins the fray and the song instantly develops into an energetic, melodic tune. “Paradise Over” has a wicked melody and ups the heaviness quite a bit. “Fade Away” maintains the heaviness of the previous track while also turning up the tempo a notch. The EP is completed with the heartfelt ballad “Hourglass Fading”. Despite their short time in existence, Selene carries themselves with all the confidence and assuredness of a veteran band. “Paradise Over” is all the proof you need.

Rating – 80/100



  1. Facing the Mirror
  2. Not Enough
  3. Still Dreaming
  4. Paradise Over
  5. Fade Away
  6. Hourglass Fading



  • Shonagh Lyons – Vocals
  • John Connor – Guitar, Keyboard
  • Thomas Alford – Bass
  • Cameron Ashlund-Glass – Drums



You May Also Like

Devin Townsend Project – “Z²” (2014)

Label: Century Media Records Review by Tony Cannella Devin Townsend is one talented dude. I don’t think that’s really a revolutionary statement. He’s a multi-instrumentalist, lyricist, showman, multi-tasker, all of…
View Post