Independent Release

Review by Tony Cannella

From France, Sins of Shadows is an energetic rock/power metal duo. The outfit is comprised of vocalist Elena Penalver and guitarist/bassist Nicolas Jacon. Due to a lack of a bio as well as scarce information on the net, I have no idea who plays drums, but Elena and Nicolas are the only members listed on their Facebook profile. Sins of Shadows have just released their new 4-song EP “Today’s the Day”“Today’s the Day” gets us started like a shot of adrenaline. This is an energetic, fast paced opener. Next, we have the heavy “The Masters Way”. There is plenty of musical proficiency on display throughout the song. “Not in My World” slows down the tempo at the beginning before segueing into a crunchy melodic song. The instrumental track “The Mountain, Part I” brings the EP to a close. Again, I can’t say enough good things about the musicianship that Sins of Shadows displays (including vocally). The whole thing lasts about 18-minutes and it is time well spent. “Today’s the Day” is a nice effort of this duo. Sins of Shadows are an impressive metal band and one to keep an eye on.

Rating – 75/100



  1. Today’s the Day
  2. The Masters Way
  3. Not in My World
  4. The Mountain, Part I


Line Up

  • Elena Penalver – Vocals
  • Nicolas Jacon – Guitars, Bass