Sirenia – “Dim Days of Dolor” (2016)


Label: Napalm Records

Review by Tony Cannella

Sadly, line-up changes seem to be a fact of life in the music industry. The Norwegian Gothic/Symphonic metal band Sirenia have endured more of their fair share of line-up changes, particularly to their female singers. After spending eight years with the band and recording five albums, it was announced that vocalist Ailyn had left the band after building up a strong resume with Sirenia. Her replacement is French singer Emmanuelle Zoldan and she makes her debut as the female lead vocalist for Sirenia on their new album (and 8th overall) “”Dim Days of Dolor””. Emmanuelle Zoldan is not exactly a newcomer. She has worked with Sirenia in the past performing as a session vocalist on a few of their albums, but this is her debut with the band as their brand-new lead vocalist. She is a very gifted vocalist who is just as talented doing the operatic stuff as she is a more melodic style. Her vocal style is quite diverse and she seems to be a really good fit for Sirenia. She’’s got a strong set of pipes, no doubt about it. “”Dim Days of Dolor”” begins with the epically charged, very Sirenia-like number, “”Goddess of the Sea””. Any fears about their new singer are put to rest once Emmanuelle begins singing. ““Dim Days of Dolor”” is up next and the band puts to good use their symphonic metal acumen. This song has got a great big, memorable chorus and one that stays with you long after you’ve heard it for the first time. Next, we have the bombastic, heavy track “”The 12th Hour””. Just a great a song loaded with strong riffs, an up-tempo pace and some great duel beauty and the beast style vocals courtesy of Emmanuelle and Morten Veland. Other highlights include: ““Cloud Nine””, ““Veil of Winter”” and ““Elusive Sun””. It is always subjective and a matter of opinion when you boldly proclaim that something is the best. However, I would have to say that if “”Dim Days of Dolor””, isn’’t the best Sirenia album, it is definitely my favorite.

Rating – 95/100



  1. Goddess of the Sea
  2. Dim Days of Dolor
  3. The 12th Hour
  4. Treasure n’ Treason
  5. Cloud Nine
  6. Veil of Winter
  7. Ashes to Ashes
  8. Elusive Sun
  9. Playing With Fire
  10. Fifth Column
  11. Aeon’s Embrace


Line Up

  • Emmanuelle Zoldan – Vocals
  • Morten Veland – Guitar & Vocals
  • Jan Erik Soltvedt – Guitar
  • Jonathan A. Perez – Drums

You May Also Like

Devin Townsend Project – “Z²” (2014)

Label: Century Media Records Review by Tony Cannella Devin Townsend is one talented dude. I don’t think that’s really a revolutionary statement. He’s a multi-instrumentalist, lyricist, showman, multi-tasker, all of…
View Post