Sirenia – “Perils of the Deep Blue” (2013)


Label : Nuclear Blast

Review by Tony Cannella

The Norwegian Symphonic metal band Sirenia returns with their 6th album, “Perils of the Deep Blue” and what you get here is 11-songs and over an hour’s worth of music that doesn’t stray too far from what Sirenia does best, and that is definitely not a bad thing. Sirenia’s growing fan base has come to expect a certain style and sound and happily that is exactly what Sirenia gives us. That is not to say that Sirenia doesn’t do some tweaking along the way. And therein lies their strength as a band that they still manage to make each album a unique experience and that continues on “Perils of the Deep Blue”.

“Perils of the Deep Blue” begins with an atmospheric intro called “Ducere Me In Lucem” which gives way to the bombastic “Seven Widows Weep”. Mortan Veland is there to add some gruff extreme vocals which are contrasted by Ailyn’s sweet, angelic vocals. The awesomely melodic and up-tempo “My Destiny Coming to Pass” is next and this gets my vote as next video (not that anyone asked). This song is so huge sounding – from the guitar riff, to its up-tempo and some choir-like background vocals. Its symphonic elements are so pronounced on this one and it even features a bit of a black metal influence. Great song and one of the best the band has ever recorded, in my opinion. The thing I have always loved about Sirenia is the diversity they show on their albums – a trait that is becoming more prominent. A perfect example of this is the mid-tempo “Ditt Endelikt”. This song features clean male vocals throughout most of the song and it’s got a great inspiring melody. The band returns to their heavy symphonic sound with the next track “Cold Caress”. The album’s centre piece is perhaps the moody almost 13-minute epic “Stille Kom Doden”. This has got to be one of the most ambitious songs the band has ever attempted. Other highlights include: “Darkling”, “Decadence” and “Profound Scars”. Sirenia is riding high right now and with “Perils of the Deep Blue” have really begun to hit their stride both musically and artistically. With each album, Sirenia is becoming more and more one of my favorite bands.

Rating – 90/100



  1. Ducere Me In Lucem
  2. Seven Widows Weep
  3. My Destiny Coming to Pass
  4. Ditt Endelikt
  5. Cold Caress
  6. Darkling
  7. Decadence
  8. Stille Kom Doden
  9. The Funeral March
  10. Profound Scars
  11. A Blizzard Is Storming


Line Up

  • Ailyn – Vocals
  • Morten Veland – Guitars & Vocals
  • Jan Erik Soltvedt – Guitars
  • Jonathan A. Perez – Drums


Facebook * Twitter * Site

You May Also Like

Devin Townsend Project – “Z²” (2014)

Label: Century Media Records Review by Tony Cannella Devin Townsend is one talented dude. I don’t think that’s really a revolutionary statement. He’s a multi-instrumentalist, lyricist, showman, multi-tasker, all of…
View Post