Synful Ira – “Between Hope and Fear” (2012)


Label : Logic(il)logic Records

Review by Tony Cannella

Synful Ira is a new Symphonic Power metal band from Italy. The band formed in 2007 and has released their debut album “Between Hope and Fear”.

“Between Hope and Fear” tells a story and features a pretty cool concept. I won’t get into it here – because it would take up far too much space to describe such a complex story – but the lyrics makes for some interesting reading. But as always in music, you can tell the greatest story ever, but if you don’t have the songs to back it up, then you’ve got nothing. So does Synful Ira have the songs? For the most part the material on “Between Hope and Fear” is strong, with a cool melodic base that could definitely make this band accessible outside of the power metal genre. The intro “Sound of Life” gets things started and sets the stage for the story that is to be told over the next 50-minutes. From there the track “True Lies” comes crashing through. Next is the excellent “Behind the Suspect” – check out the fantastic guitar solo on this one. “Shining Tracks” has a nice melody and the pace slows down a bit, it is still heavy and the keyboards add a haunting atmosphere, but the tempo is a little slower. Other highlights include: “Revenge of Mind”, “Inside My Fears” and “Hope”.

“Between Hope and Fear” starts to falter a bit near the end, but that doesn’t take away from the fact that Synful Ira has released a pretty good debut. This might be a band to watch.

Rating – 80/100



  1. Sound of Life
  2. True Lies
  3. Behind the Suspect
  4. Shining Tracks
  5. Revenge of Mind
  6. Inside My Fears
  7. My Friend
  8. Hope
  9. 8.45
  10. New Love
  11. Fatal Temptation
  12. Destiny


Line Up

  • Letizia Chiozzi – Vocals
  • Fabio Balducci – Guitars
  • Laura Balducci – Guitars
  • Filippo Martignano – Keyboards, Samples
  • Emanuele Chiozzi – Bass
  • Marco Renzi – Drums


Facebook * Twitter * Site

You May Also Like

Devin Townsend Project – “Z²” (2014)

Label: Century Media Records Review by Tony Cannella Devin Townsend is one talented dude. I don’t think that’s really a revolutionary statement. He’s a multi-instrumentalist, lyricist, showman, multi-tasker, all of…
View Post