THE CRANBERRIES -“Stars: The Best of the Cranberries 1992-2002”

Island Records/Universal

Review by Tony Cannella

THE CRANBERRIES -"Stars: The Best of the Cranberries 1992-2002"
THE CRANBERRIES -“Stars: The Best of the Cranberries 1992-2002”

Music fans worldwide were stricken with grief by the passing of Dolores o’ Riordan in 2018. After the announcement, tributes came from musicians of all genres and fans. Her death has no doubt touched a lot of people.

The compilation album “Stars” focuses on the period from 1992 to 2002. It is a perfect chance to step back through time and re-visit one of the most underrated alternative rock bands ever.

This 20-song collection presents the band’s ultimate highlights. Songs such as “Dreams”, “Linger” and “Zombie” are classics, but there is so much more to this band. They have a diverse set of songs.

And, Dolores o’ Riordan has one of the most distinctive and likable vocals in alternative rock. The Cranberries have displayed their killer melody, hooks, and arrangements on songs like “Ode to My Family”, “I Can’t Be With You”, “Salvation”, “Hollywood” and “Stars”.

If you are a fan of The Cranberries or new to the group, “Stars” is a great, comprehensive collection to own that spotlights some great music. And, let this serve as a snapshot into whose band was at the top of their game.


  1. Dreams
  2. Linger
  3. Zombie
  4. Ode to my Family
  5. I Can’t Be With You
  6. Ridiculous Thought
  7. Salvation
  8. Free to Decide
  9. When You’re Gone
  10. Hollywood
  11. Promises
  12. Animal Instinct
  13. Just My Imagination
  14. You & Me
  15. Analyse
  16.  Time is Ticking Out
  17. This is the Day
  18. Daffodil Lament
  19. New New York
  20. Stars

Line Up

  • Dolores o’Riordan – Vocals, keyboards & guitars
  • Noel Hogan – Guitar & vocals
  • Mike Hogan – Bass & vocals
  • Fergal Lawler – Drums & percussion