The Nearly Deads – “Survival Guide” EP (2013)


Label: Standby Records

Review by Tony Cannella

Hailing from Tampa, Florida, The Nearly Deads are a modern hard rock band with a definite amount of commercial viability. The band has since moved on to the country music capital of the world Nashville, Tennessee, but fear not, the music that can be heard on their new 6-song EP “Survival Guide” is the furthest thing from country music as you can imagine. Instead The Nearly Deads stay true to their modern hard rock roots.

“Survival Guide” is my first exposure to The Nearly Deads and I was kind of surprised. I guess I was expecting something a little more gothic, but what we get is hard rock that is more reminiscent of Paramore or Garbage, in fact I would describe them as a heavier Paramore and it all makes for a winning combination. The 21-minute EP moves along pretty quickly beginning with the opener “Brave” and into the best tune “Never Look Back”. The songs are pretty up-tempo and memorable. “Reasons” is probably the heaviest track and another highlight.

Overall, The Nearly Deads are a band with a tremendous amount of potential as far as reaching a wider audience. Don’t be scared off by their name, the “Survival Guide” EP strikes the right balance between uncompromising hard rock and more accessible modern rock.

Rating – 84/100



  1. Brave
  2. Never Look Back
  3. Changeover
  4. Reasons
  5. Fact & Friction
  6. Never Look Back (Reanimated)


Line Up

  • Theresa Jeane – Vocals, Keys
  • Steven Tobi – Lead Guitar
  • Brandon Barnes – Rhythm Guitar
  • Kevin Koelsch – Bass
  • Cory Walen – Drums


Facebook * Twitter * Site

You May Also Like

Devin Townsend Project – “Z²” (2014)

Label: Century Media Records Review by Tony Cannella Devin Townsend is one talented dude. I don’t think that’s really a revolutionary statement. He’s a multi-instrumentalist, lyricist, showman, multi-tasker, all of…
View Post