The Oath – “The Oath” (2014)


Label: Rise Above Records

Review by Tony Cannella

Since the release of their self-titled debut, the female duo The Oath has called it quits. Too bad too, because “The Oath” has some pretty cool songs running through it.

The rumbling guitar riffs intro the first tune “All Must Die” which has a doomy Black Sabbath vibe. The next track “Silk Road” continues in the vein of the previous song. “Night Child” picks up the tempo with some greater, heavy riffing and an infectious melody and just flat out rocks.

The Oath has a definite Ozzy-era Black Sabbath vibe going for them – which can never be a bad thing. Other highlights include: “Leaving Together” (which has a dark and sinister feel to it), “Black Rainbow” and the 7-minute closer “Psalm 7”. All-in-all this is a pretty cool album. Fans of Ozzy-era Sabbath might certainly want to check this out – as well as fans of classic metal in general. So even though The Oath is no longer with us, they left us with an album that they can be proud of.

Rating – 75/100



  1. All Must Die
  2. Silk Road
  3. Night Child
  4. Leaving Together
  5. Black Rainbow
  6. Silver and Dust
  7. Death Delight
  8. In Dream
  9. Psalm 7


Line Up

  • Johanna Sadonis – Vocals
  • Linnea Olsson – Guitar
  • Henrik Palm – Guitar (Solo/Session)
  • Simon Bouteloup – Bass
  • Andrew Prestridge – Drums (Live/Session)


Facebook * BandCamp



You May Also Like

Devin Townsend Project – “Z²” (2014)

Label: Century Media Records Review by Tony Cannella Devin Townsend is one talented dude. I don’t think that’s really a revolutionary statement. He’s a multi-instrumentalist, lyricist, showman, multi-tasker, all of…
View Post