Thy Symphony – “A New Beginning” (2013)


Label : Sleazy Rider Records

Review by Tony Cannella

It’s always a risky proposition when a band replaces their lead singer. Well, imagine replacing two. That is just the situation that the Brazilian symphonic metal band Thy Symphony finds themselves in. Gone are the two lead vocalists (Camila and Alan) from their debut album “Harmonizing the World”. Now, with the release of their sophomore album “A New Beginning” (very aptly titled) the band is joined by the new vocal duo of Karina Bonizi and Leandro Baracho.

The ultra cinematic intro “Hope and Fear” segues into the inter mingling of heavy guitar driven music with Tarja-era style symphony dominated music on the track “Galaxy’s Great Eye”. The two new vocalists split their duties rather evenly with Karina Bonizi being very, very operatic and Leandro Baracho having more of a traditional metal voice. The next track “Saints and Sinners” reminds me a bit of “Wish I Had An Angel” in the beginning. It certainly has a bit of a more accessible and melodic vibe than the previous song. “Revolution” again begins with a heavy guitar riff before the heavy symphonic elements join in. “Charming Nymphy” sees the band once again going in more of a mid-tempo melodic direction. The songs “Where Land Begs the Sun”, “Dark Knight” and the 15-minute epic “2012 A New Beginning” showcases the bands fascination with cinematic, symphonically rich metal music. With a name like Thy Symphony you would expect them to be a symphonic metal band and with “A New Beginning”, they certainly live up to the name.

Rating – 70/100



  1. Hope and Fear
  2. Galaxy’s Great Eye
  3. Saints and Sinners
  4. Revolution
  5. Charming Nymphy
  6. Where Land Begs the Sun
  7. Dark Knight
  8. Watcher
  9. Thin Line to Insanity
  10. WTC
  11. Time Traveler
  12. 2012 A New Beginning
  13. Spark of Life


Line Up

  • Karina Bonizi – Vocals
  • Leandro Baracho -Vocals
  • Cesar Raize: Guitars
  • Marcello Valsesia – Keyboards
  • Rene Labate – Bass
  • Eric Flemming – Drums


Facebook * Twitter * Site

You May Also Like

Devin Townsend Project – “Z²” (2014)

Label: Century Media Records Review by Tony Cannella Devin Townsend is one talented dude. I don’t think that’s really a revolutionary statement. He’s a multi-instrumentalist, lyricist, showman, multi-tasker, all of…
View Post