Triosphere – “The Heart of the Matter” (2014)


Label: AFM Records

Review by Tony Cannella

There is always a place for all kinds of metal genres, sub genres and sub genres of sub genres. It’s all good and there is so much good stuff out there. I love it all, operatic metal, symphonic metal, extreme metal, but to me it is always great to hear a band that just gets back to basics plays metal. Just straight-forward in your face behind a wall of guitars metal; in that case the Norwegian band Triosphere is like a breath of fresh air. With their 3rd album – and first in 4-years – “The Heart of the Matter” the band is in top form and seems to be really hitting their stride.

The opening track “My Fortress” has an Iron Maiden vibe to it. The song is spurred on by wall of relentless riffs and a sort of galloping rhythm that Maiden has been known for. The relentlessness continues on the powerful second track “Steal Away the Light”. Triosphere certainly carries the classic metal torch with songs like “The Sentinel” and “Breathless”. “Breathless” in particular is one of my favorites and has a great heavy mid-tempo style to it and lead vocalist Ida Haukland (who is just plain fabulous) really shows off her vocal range on this one. Other highlights include: “The Heart’s Dominion”, “As I Call” and “Relentless”. “The Heart of the Matter” is just a full-on metal assault that has a high quality of material that fans of classic bands like Maiden and Priest as well as younger bands like Benedictum should come to appreciate.

With “The Heart of the Matter”, Triosphere has that classic metal sound with a modern twist. The songs are relentless and beautifully, wonderfully and unapologetically metal. Triosphere are becoming increasingly impossible to ignore.

Rating – 90/100



  1. My Fortress
  2. Steal Away the Light
  3. The Sentinel
  4. Breathless
  5. Departure
  6. The Heart’s Dominion
  7. As I Call
  8. Relentless
  9. The Sphere
  10. Remedy
  11. Storyteller
  12. Virgin Ground


Line Up

  • Ida Haukland – lead and backing vocals, bass
  • Marius Silver Bergesen – lead and rhythm guitars
  • Tor Ole Byberg – lead and rhythm guitars
  • Espen Godø – piano, Mellotron, Hammond organ (Additional musicians)
  • Ørjan Aare Jørgensen – Drums


Facebook * Twitter * Site

You May Also Like

Devin Townsend Project – “Z²” (2014)

Label: Century Media Records Review by Tony Cannella Devin Townsend is one talented dude. I don’t think that’s really a revolutionary statement. He’s a multi-instrumentalist, lyricist, showman, multi-tasker, all of…
View Post