Vaee Solis – “Adversarial Light” (2015)


Label: Signal Rex / Mordgrimm

Review by Alysha Hayden

Vaee Solis are a Portuguese black/doom/sludge band and “Adversarial Light” is their debut album containing six tracks to give us a delicious taste of what’s to come. This album has a slow and melodic sound overlaid with depressive doom storyline. Frontwoman Sophia’s hoarse voice slumbers through each track almost joining them together as one 39 minute piece. “Feral Isolation” stood out to me as Vaee Solis kept it light on the drums and rang out on the guitars, changing the tone and momentum of the album slightly. Though Sophia’s vocals kept the theme down in the darker realms where nightmares roam freely. “Cosmocrat” closed off this debut with a sludge overture that left me wanting to hit replay. If you’re a fan of sludge metal then you need to do yourself a favour and give Vaee Solis a listen.

Review – 80/100



  1. Saturn’s Storm
  2. Adversarial Light
  3. Ennoia
  4. Feral Isolation
  5. Libra
  6. Cosmocrat


Line Up

  • Sofia Loureiro – Vocals
  • Filipe Azevedo – Guitars
  • João Galrito – Bass
  • João Seixas – Drums
  • F. Correia – ?
  • P. Roque – ?

You May Also Like

Devin Townsend Project – “Z²” (2014)

Label: Century Media Records Review by Tony Cannella Devin Townsend is one talented dude. I don’t think that’s really a revolutionary statement. He’s a multi-instrumentalist, lyricist, showman, multi-tasker, all of…
View Post