Vandroya – “Behind the Human Mind” (2017)


Label: Inner Wound Recordings

Review by Tony Cannella

Has it really been four years since the debut full-length album from one of Brazil’s best power metal bands? Yes, it has and it only seems like yesterday when Vandroya released “One”, their excellent debut full-length. Now the band returns with an even bigger, better, and more melodic release entitled, “Beyond the Human Mind”“Beyond the Human Mind” is a concept record with themes revolving around the “journey we all go through in search of fullness, inner peace and ourselves”. The band still maintains a healthy power metal kick whilst offering up plenty for the progressive metal fans to sink their teeth into. The instrumental intro track, “Columns of Illusion” lead us into, “The Path to the Endless Fall”. This track really sets a high standard right off the bat with its soaring vocals and some seriously killer guitar work. Vandroya barrels through the next two songs “Maya” and “Time After Time” before allowing us to catch our breath with the emotional ballad “Last Breath” before picking up the tempo once again with “I’m Alive”. The album is completed with the epic 11-minute track “Beyond the Human Mind” and what a huge finale it is. “Beyond the Human Mind” is quality music from a quality band. Vandroya has achieved a new plateau of excellence with their sophomore album.

Rating – 90/100



  1. Columns of Illusion
  2. The Path to the Endless Fall
  3. Maya
  4. Time After Time
  5. Last Breath
  6. I’m Alive
  7. You’ll Know My Name
  8. If I Forgive Myself
  9. Beyond the Human Mind


Line Up

  • Daísa Munhoz – Vocals
  • Marco Lambert – Guitar
  • Rodolfo Pagotto – Guitar
  • Giovanni Perlati – Bass
  • Otávio Nuñez – Drums

You May Also Like

Devin Townsend Project – “Z²” (2014)

Label: Century Media Records Review by Tony Cannella Devin Townsend is one talented dude. I don’t think that’s really a revolutionary statement. He’s a multi-instrumentalist, lyricist, showman, multi-tasker, all of…
View Post