Via Obscura – “Gedanken” (2012)


Label: Woodhouse Records/Feuerbaum Records

Review by Tony Cannella

For anyone who still hangs on to the notion that metal is a limiting art form than I would direct them to the female fronted German trio Via Obscura and their new album “Gedanken”. Make no mistake about it, this is not uplifting head banging metal, instead Via Obscura are little bit more on the dark and melancholic side.

The songs on “Gedanken” are ethereal, eclectic and emotional. The band fuses heavy doom-metal like riffs with the wispy melancholic vocals of Anne S. Thinius to create an alternative blend of some unique metal music. The tempo is slower paced for the most part and the vibe is foreboding from the very beginning of the opening track “Moment”. The eerie sounding organ intros the next track “Dreck” as some monstrously heavy riffs joins in. The songs range from 3 to 7-minutes throughout the over 40-minutes worth of music provided here. The longest song is the 7 ½ minute opener followed by the 7-minute half instrumental “Dreck”. Other highlights include: “Sing”, “Ruine” and “Gedanken”

So for fans who are looking for something a little bit darker, than Via Obscura might be of interest to you. “Gedanken” is not an album that makes an immediate impact, but it does eventually make an impact nonetheless.

Rating – 73/100



  1. Moment
  2. Dreck
  3. Sing
  4. Ruine
  5. Wind
  6. Tanz
  7. Morgen
  8. Gedanken


Line Up

  • Anne S. Thinius – Vocals, Keys, Piano
  • Alexander Thinius – Guitars, Drums
  • Andre Manke – Bass


Facebook * Twitter* Site

You May Also Like

Devin Townsend Project – “Z²” (2014)

Label: Century Media Records Review by Tony Cannella Devin Townsend is one talented dude. I don’t think that’s really a revolutionary statement. He’s a multi-instrumentalist, lyricist, showman, multi-tasker, all of…
View Post